Nursing: NURS 5155 Professional Issues and Nursing Practice in Australia

NURS 5155: Professional Issues and Nursing Practice in Australia

1. NURS 5155: Professional Issues and Nursing Practice in Australia

This assignment help is designed to assist you with your 

  • Assignment 1 (Part B): Case Report
  • Assessment 1 (Part C) Clinical Practice Report

image of information icon   For full assessment details, please see your course outline.

Understand the task

The Student Engagement Unit's Academic Skills website has a number of resources to help make sense of the assignment and instruction words.

Plan your search

Start by:

  • identifying the concepts (main ideas) from your assignment topic
  • consider alternative words for these concepts

The alternative words (synonyms) with your concepts become your searchable keywords.

Learn more about planning your search by watching this video: 

Search Strategy

To search effectively, it is important to first prepare a search strategy.  

Start by identifying the concepts (main ideas) from your assignment topic, then consider alternative words for these concepts. Together, these will become your searchable keywords.

Sample Question:  
Does nurse staffing levels and staffing models have an impact on the outcome of patient care in Australia?
Concepts nurse, staffing levels, patient wellbeing, Australia

                                                                Synonyms:

Concept 1
  • nurse
  • nurses
  • nursing
Concept 2
  • scheduling
  • turnover
  • staffing levels
  • staffing models
  • burnout
 Concept 3
  • patient wellbeing
  • patient safety
  • patient outcomes
  • failure to rescue
Concept 4
  • Australia
  • Australian

Combined search string with:
AND / OR / truncation * / phrases ("word + word")

nurs*  (instead of nurse OR  nurses OR nursing)
AND
scheduling OR  turnover OR "health care delivery" OR "staffing levels" OR "staffing models"
AND
"patient wellbeing" OR "patient safe*" OR "patient outcome*" OR "failure to rescue" 
AND
Australia* 

 

5. Library Catalogue

The Library Catalogue can be a useful starting point in locating information. It is like a search engine which searches across the Library’s collection of print and electronic books, DVDs, journals and theses, together with journal and newspaper articles from numerous databases.

Use the Library Catalogue:

  • to find a book or ebook by its title
  • to find a journal article by its title, or use a combination of article title and author
  • to find information in books, journals and other materials on a topic

Use the down arrow next to the search box to select All fields, Title, Author or Subject. All fields is similar to doing a keyword search, and is the default search option.

Learn to use the Library Catalogue by working through the interactive tutorial. Click on the image below to start:

 

 

Find Journal Articles for your Assessment

Journals articles are often found in databases.

Useful databases to search

  • Emcare (via Ovid)includes nearly 5 million records of the scholarly and peer-reviewed literature in nursing and allied health dating back to 1995. Subject coverage are Clinical Medicine, Health Professions, Nursing, Pharmacology and Public Health

Search Emcare Tutorial 

  • Medline:  The US National Library of Medicine database. Covers medicine, nursing, bio-medicine, pharmacy and allied Health. 

  • Scopus: One of the largest bibliographic, multidisciplinary databases. Covers chemistry, physics, mathematics, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences, psychology adn economics, as well as biological, agricultural, environmental and general sciences. 

  • Informit Health Collection for Australian information

  • ScienceDirect for peer reviewed articles on a huge range of subjects (including health)

 

Database limits and filters may be applied to reduce your search results if you have too many.

Some useful limits include 'English Language' or date. Note the following about using limits:

  • Using a limit only applies to the database you are currently searching. If you have selected more than one, only the results from the filtered database will display.
  • If the database is bibliographic (abstract) only - it won't find any full-text. Using a full-text limiter will therefore yield 0 results.

If you limit your results, there is always the potential that you could miss some important/useful research. 

6. Study Help: Evaluating Information

7. Write your Assignment

You also need to understand the requirements of your assignment. The Student Engagement Unit has created a suite of resources called Study Help that can help you understand different assignment types. Have a look at:

8. Referencing

Harvard UniSA referencing resources and guides

Use the Harvard UniSA referencing system as explained in the UniSA resources.