This assignment help is designed to assist you with your
For full assessment details, please see your
The Student Engagement Unit's Academic Skills website has a number of resources to help make sense of the assignment and instruction words.
It is best practice to identify concepts and keywords from your assignment topic prior to searching.
Use the PICO or PIO framework to break down your concepts into more precise groups by identifying your Population of Interest; Intervention; Comparison; and Outcomes. If you have not specified a Comparison, just leave it out- this is a PIO framework.
Lets use the PICO or PIO framework to break down this example question:
Are there any evidence of adverse effects following the administration of the influenza vaccinations to healthcare workers?
Concepts with Synonyms:
Combined search string with:
AND / OR / truncation * / phrases ("word + word")
"healthcare worker*" OR "healthcare professional*" OR "health personnel"
"influenza vaccin*" OR "flu vaccin*" (* also for vaccinations) OR immuni* OR "influenza immuni*"
"adverse effect*" OR "negative impact*" OR "side effect*" OR "negative outcome*"
The Library Catalogue can be a useful starting point in locating information. It is like a search engine which searches across the Library’s collection of print and electronic books, DVDs, journals and theses, together with journal and newspaper articles from numerous databases.
Use the Library Catalogue:
Use the down arrow next to the search box to select All fields, Title, Author or Subject. All fields is similar to doing a keyword search, and is the default search option.
Learn to use the Library Catalogue by working through the interactive tutorial. Click on the image below to start:
Journals articles are often found in databases.
Useful databases to search
Emcare (via Ovid): includes nearly 5 million records of the scholarly and peer-reviewed literature in nursing and allied health dating back to 1995. Subject coverage are Clinical Medicine, Health Professions, Nursing, Pharmacology and Public Health
Search Emcare Tutorial
Medline: The US National Library of Medicine database. Covers medicine, nursing, bio-medicine, pharmacy and allied Health.
Scopus: One of the largest bibliographic, multidisciplinary databases. Covers chemistry, physics, mathematics, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences, psychology adn economics, as well as biological, agricultural, environmental and general sciences.
Informit Health Collection for Australian information
Pubmed (discipline specific/all peer reviewed)
ScienceDirect for peer reviewed articles on a huge range of subjects (including health)
Database limits and filters may be applied to reduce your search results if you have too many.
Some useful limits include 'English Language' or date. Note the following about using limits:
If you limit your results, there is always the potential that you could miss some important/useful research.
You also need to understand the requirements of your assignment. The Student Engagement Unit has created a suite of resources called Study Help that can help you understand different assignment types. Have a look at:
Harvard UniSA referencing resources and guides
Use the Harvard UniSA referencing system as explained in the UniSA resources.
How to find scholarly sources
How to save time searching databases
Study Help: Understanding Copyright