Midwifery: NURS 3047: Becoming a Midwife

Becoming a Midwife - Assessment 1

              baby boy girl photo 301977

This page will help get you started on Assignment 1.   You should use a range of quality sources to support the argument that you are presenting in your debate.

Debate Report (1500 words equivalent)

This assessment is in two parts:

  • Part 1 - Debate (equivalent 1000 words)
  • Part 2 - Reflection Report (equivalent 500 words)

This assessment aims to assess your:

  • research skills,
  • presentation skills,
  • communication skills,
  • problem solving skills,
  • and your ability to work as a team member

Read all information related to your assessment to understand what your lecturers and tutors are looking for
when they are marking your assessments!!

This will help you gain an overall understanding of the assessment and will help you plan the structure and the content.

Part 1: Debate (equivalent 1000 words) 

In class (face-to-face or online), we will be identifying several clinical practice issues (an important topic or problem for debate or discussion) that you will draft into statements for debate in your pre-allocated groups of 4-6 students.

In groups, you will prepare a section of the debate (either on the 'for' or 'against' side) and present the debate to your peers.

You must negotiate your choice of topic with your lecturer by week 2.

When preparing for your debate you should consider the following:

  • How the clinical practice issue is viewed in the clinical environment
  • Trace sources of knowledge of the clinical practice issue and determine its basis e.g. is it based on tradition, myth, authority, art, intuition, research
  • Literature reviewed and critically analysed
  • Outline the significance of the practice issue

Discuss possible strategies that might address the issue e.g. education/research, particularly in terms of your future practice as a midwife, and the practice of other midwives both in Australia and globally.

Please note:

  • You are expected to work together in your teams to produce the debate.
  • Each student will present an aspect of the debate and will speak for three minutes.
  • A copy of your presentation script must be submitted via learnonline on the same day that you present your debate.

Assessment feedback rubic

Refer to the Debate feedback rubic.

Part 2 - Team member reflection report (500 words)

You are required to write a reflection on the experience of working together in your teams to produce the debate and will consider the issues identified in class and online about:

  • leadership,
  • teamwork, and
  • professional communication.
  • You are encouraged to use the reflective practice resources provided within this unit (and below) to consider your performance within the debate and as a team member.
  • Your reflection report is due within one week of your debate presentation and is submitted via learnonline.

Reflection Resources

Please use the following resources to assist you with the reflective writing aspects of both assessments:

Assessment feedback rubic

Refer to the Debate Team Member Reflection Report Rubic.

Graduate qualities being assessed for this assignment include:

  • O2). Apply evidence of reflection in relation to continuous professional development and lifelong learning in midwifery practice.
  • CO3). Identify and apply principles of effective leadership and teamwork, negotiation and conflict resolution skills within the context of a multidisciplinary team.
Loading ...

1. Formulate the Debate

Thought bubble image

Debating Skills

Do you know how to formulate a debate? 

The following resources can help you to prepare:

Websites

The following video by Reading Pioneers Debate can help you to structure an argument for a debate.

The following video by the Reading Pioneers Debate can help you to prepare your rebuttal.

Loading ...

2. Developing your search strategy

Complex assessment questions need to be broken down into subtopics.

To search effectively in the Library Catalogue, databases, and the Internet, first break down the question into manageable subtopics. This video shows you how to do this.

Identify key concepts in each subtopic that you identified from your assessment question.

To develop an effective search strategy you need to break each subtopic into concepts (or parts) and choose the important keywords (or topic words) from each concept.

Watch this video to learn how to break the each subtopic into concepts.

 

Now you need to identify synonyms for the key concepts that you identified

The next step in the search process is to see whether there are alternative words or spellings for each concept that you identified.

Watch this video to learn how to do this:

 

Now combine the search terms that you identified before you start searching in databases.

First watch this video to learn how to connect and combine search terms:

Search Strategies

Searching using a string of search terms or simply typing in a sentence is not an effective search strategy. You must think about how your keywords relate to one another by using OR, AND, NOT as appropriate. 

Loading ...

3. Searching for Information

The Library Catalogue can be a useful starting point in locating information. It is like a search engine which searches across the Library’s collection of print and electronic books, DVDs, journals and theses, together with journal and newspaper articles from numerous databases.

Use the Library Catalogue:

Completing the Learn to Search the Catalogue interactive tutorial will help you to search the catalogue effectively.

*Note: this tutorial works best in Firefox or Chrome.

Fast facts about Library databases:

  • databases can have a general or subject-specific focus
  • they may index the details about journal articles, reports and news stories
  • many databases provide the full text of the articles

Useful databases to search

Watch the following video to help you plan your search strategy and search for information.

Refining the results

A useful option at the results list is to Refine Results to show only Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals, and to limit to a Publication Date range, eg 2012–2017.

Finding full text

  • Where possible, links to the full text will appear as PDF attachments.
  • When there is no immediate access to the PDF, use the Find it link. This will automatically search the Library Catalogue for your reference, and may provide some access options (e.g. 'Read this article' or 'Browse this journal')

The Internet can be a useful source of information for this assessment. Use the key concepts and synonyms that you identified in step 2 (above) to search.

Useful Internet sources include:

Tips when searching in Google Scholar

Use Google Scholar to find more scholarly material than is usually found in search engines  for example from educational and government web sites. An advantage of Google Scholar is that it provides access to the full text of many scholarly/academic articles if you connect to it via the link above (i.e. via the Library website).

Loading ...

4. Evaluating and selecting resources

You need to use credible references for your Assessments.

Credible references are articles from peer reviewed journals that are of high quality and can be used to support arguments that you are presenting. Articles in peer reviewed journals must go through an evaluation process with experts in the field before being published. The term refereed is also used.

The terms scholarly and academic are also sometimes used to indicate quality journals.

It is important that you evaluate a web site to ensure that the information is reliable. Consider:

  • Authority
    • who wrote it?
    • what are their qualifications/credentials?
    • is it from an authoritative source?
  • Timeliness
    • when was the information published?
    • is it updated regularly?
  • Bias
    • is it fact, opinion or propaganda?
  • Relevance
    • is the information relevant to the assignment topic?
    • does the information actually cover your topic?
Loading ...

5. Referencing reminders

Adapted from 'Lines, Background, Abstract, Light, Irrlichter, About' by Geralt. Licensed under CCO 1.0

Academic writing is based on wide reading of academic sources and you MUST acknowledge the writings and ideas of other people by using a referencing system.

The referencing in your assignment shows two things:

§  the range of ideas and approaches to a topic that you have found and thought about

§  your acknowledgement of where these ideas came from.

Harvard UniSA referencing resources and guides

Use the Harvard UniSA referencing system as explained in the UniSA resources. See: