This page will get you started finding resources and writing Assignment 2. You should use a range of quality sources to support the argument that you are presenting in your essay.
This assignment is an essay and you can choose from three choices of topic. You only need to answer one of the questions using current literature and your textbook. You are required to reference your program textbook(s) and a minimum of four (4) peer reviewed journal articles published from 2010. You may include articles before this date if they are significant and relevant to your discussion but you must have a minimum of 5 references (including text) dated after 2010.
Read all information related to your assessment to understand what your lecturers and
tutors are looking for when they are marking your assessments!!
View the Student Engagement Unit's Academic Skills website for help planning your assignment and making sense of the assignment and instruction words.
Start by identifying the concepts (main ideas) from your assignment topic prior to searching. Then consider alternative words for each.
Break down the question
Firstly, it is important to define any terms that you are not familiar with.
Next identify what the main concepts are and then think of synonyms or alternative terms for these concept words
Now use AND and OR to combine your keywords
Finally, add truncation, wildcards and phrase symbols This will help you save time and get relevant results.
The Library Catalogue can be a useful starting point in locating information. It is like a search engine which searches across the Library’s collection of print and electronic books, DVDs, journals and theses, together with journal and newspaper articles from numerous databases.
Use the Library Catalogue:
Learn to use the Library Catalogue by working through the interactive tutorial. Simply click on the image below to start.
Journal articles are often found in databases.
Database limits and filters may be applied to reduce your search results if you have too many. Some useful limits include 'English Language' or date. Note the following about using limits:
Using a limit only applies to the database you are currently searching. If you have selected more than one, only the results from the filtered database will display.
If the database is bibliographic (abstract) only – it won’t find any full-text. Using a full text limiter will therefore yield 0 results.
If you limit your results, there is always the potential that you could miss some important/useful research.
Emcare (via Ovid): includes nearly 5 million records of the scholarly and peer-reviewed literature in nursing and allied health dating back to 1995. Subject coverage are Clinical Medicine, Health Professions, Nursing, Pharmacology and Public Health
Search Emcare Tutorial
Medline: The US National Library of Medicine database. Covers medicine, nursing, bio-medicine, pharmacy and allied Health.
Scopus: One of the largest bibliographic, multidisciplinary databases. Covers chemistry, physics, mathematics, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences, psychology adn economics, as well as biological, agricultural, environmental and general sciences.
Informit Health Collection for Australian information
ScienceDirect for peer reviewed articles on a huge range of subjects (including health)
You need to use credible references for this Assessment.
Credible references are articles from peer reviewed journals that are of high quality and can be used to support arguments that you are presenting. Articles in peer reviewed journals must go through an evaluation process with experts in the field before being published. The term refereed is also used.
The terms scholarly and academic are also sometimes used to indicate quality journals.
Remember the assignment instructions:
View the Student Engagement Unit's Academic Skills website for help writing your assignment, or to make an appointment with SEU staff.
Need help referencing? Follow the roadmap!