Midwifery: NURS 1058: Foundations of Midwifery Essay

NURS1058 banner

Foundations of Midwifery Essay

This page will get you started finding resources and writing your Essay.   You can choose from three choices of topic.  You only need to answer one of the questions using current literature and your textbook. You should use a range of quality sources to support the argument that you are presenting in your essay. 

Please refer to the following for assessment instructions:     

1. Understand the Task

Please view each tab for the Essay topics.  Remember you only need to answer one of the three topics.

 

The Student Engagement Unit's Academic Skills website can help with planning your assignment and making sense of the assignment and instruction words. 

Question 1:

The concept of woman centred care is central to midwifery practice. Discuss the bioethical principles of autonomy, justice, beneficence and non-maleficence and how these principles underpin the midwifery philosophy and woman centred care.
 

 

This essay requires you to provide evidence of a clear understanding of the four ethical principles, midwifery philosophy and woman centred care.

a. What is the task word (or words)?

  • DISCUSS

b. What are the content words? (You can find these by taking the task word & adding the question “What?”)

  • DISCUSS WHAT? - bioethical principles

c.  What are the limits you need to remember?

  • Focus on the principles of autonomy, justice, beneficence and non-maleficence
  • how these principles correspond to aim of providing woman-centred care (how do they relate to providing woman-centred care - make sure you make this connection)
  • 2000 words
  • worth 40% of final grade (think about how much time you need to put into this assignment!)

Question 2: 

The National Maternity Services Plan identified four priorities for maternity care in Australia.  Priority one identified the need to increase access for all women to local maternity services by expanding the range of models of care.  Provide an overview of the models of care available for women in Australia and discuss these models in relation to the principles of public health, in particular consider the relationship of continuity of care and/or carer and maternal and neonatal outcomes.


This essay requires you to provide evidence of knowledge of maternity models of care and an understanding of public health, as well as the relationship of continuity of care/carer to maternal and neonatal outcomes.

a. What is the task word (or words)?

  • OVERVIEW
  • DISCUSS

b. What are the content words? (You can find these by taking the task word & adding the question “What?”)

  • OVERVIEW OF WHAT? - range of models of care in Australia
  • DISCUSS WHAT? - discuss in relation in relation to public health and maternal and neonatal outcomes

c.  What are the limits you need to remember?

  • in Australia
  • worth 40% of final grade (think about how much time you need to put into this assignment!)
  • 2000 words

 

The National Maternity Services Plan identified four priorities for maternity care in Australia.  Priority two identified a need to ensure Australian maternity services provide high-quality, evidence-based maternity care.  Provide an overview of evidence based practice (EBP) in maternity care and discuss at least three challenges and three benefits of EBP in the context of the philosophy of woman centred care.

 

This essay requires you to provide evidence of a sound understanding of evidence based practice and woman centred care, and your ability to discern how evidence based practice may interact with providing woman centred care.

a. What is the task word (or words)?

  • OVERVIEW
  • DISCUSS

b. What are the content words? (You can find these by taking the task word & adding the question “What?”)

  • OVERVIEW OF WHAT? - evidence based practice (EBP) in maternity care 
  • DISCUSS WHAT? -  at least three challenges and three benefits of EBP

c.  What are the limits you need to remember?

  • in Australia
  • the context of the philosophy of woman centred care.
  • worth 40% of final grade (think about how much time you need to put into this assignment!)
  • 2000 words
Loading ...

2. Plan your search

Start by identifying the concepts (main ideas) from your assignment topic prior to searching. Then consider alternative words for each.

Break down the question

As your topic might have multiple questions, you should perform a search for each sub question. Use the common concepts plus one or more question-specific concept.

For the example of 'Prenatal care models for women who live in a rural area' identify the concept common to the main question.

Concepts Alternative terms
prenatal care antenatal care, midwifery care 
models model of care
rural outer regional, remote

Now use AND and OR to combine your keywords

prenatal care OR antenatal care OR midwifery care
AND
models OR model of care
AND
Rural OR outer regional OR remote

Finally, add truncation, wildcards and phrase symbols This will help you save time and get relevant results.

For example

  • truncation can help find plural word forms, pregan* will find pregnant and pregnancy and pregnancies 
  • use quotation marks to keep phrases together, for example "patient satisfaction" OR "consumer satisfaction"

With truncation/phrases 

"prenatal care" OR "antenatal care" OR "midwifery care"
AND
model* OR "model of care"
AND
rural OR "outer regional" OR remote

3. Find Full Text of your Articles

The Library Catalogue can be a useful starting point in locating information. It is like a search engine which searches across the Library’s collection of print and electronic books, DVDs, journals and theses, together with journal and newspaper articles from numerous databases.

Use the Library Catalogue:

  • to find a book or ebook by its title
  • to find a journal article by its title, or use a combination of article title and author
  • to find information in books, journals and other materials on a topic
  • Use the down arrow next to the search box to select All fields, Title, Author or Subject. All fields is similar to doing a keyword search, and is the default search option.

Learn to use the Library Catalogue by working through the interactive tutorial.                             Simply click on the image below to start. 

3b. Use your textbook

4. Databases

Journal articles are often found in databases.

Database limits and filters may be applied to reduce your search results if you have too many.  Some useful limits include 'English Language' or date. Note the following about using limits:

  • Using a limit only applies to the database you are currently searching. If you have selected more than one, only the results from the filtered database will display.

  • If the database is bibliographic (abstract) only – it won’t find any full-text. Using a full text limiter will therefore yield 0 results.

If you limit your results, there is always the potential that you could miss some important/useful research. 

Useful databases to search

  • Emcare (via Ovid)includes nearly 5 million records of the scholarly and peer-reviewed literature in nursing and allied health dating back to 1995. Subject coverage are Clinical Medicine, Health Professions, Nursing, Pharmacology and Public Health

Search Emcare Tutorial 

  • Medline:  The US National Library of Medicine database. Covers medicine, nursing, bio-medicine, pharmacy and allied Health. 

  • Scopus: One of the largest bibliographic, multidisciplinary databases. Covers chemistry, physics, mathematics, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences, psychology adn economics, as well as biological, agricultural, environmental and general sciences. 

  • Informit Health Collection for Australian information

  • ScienceDirect for peer reviewed articles on a huge range of subjects (including health)

5. Evaluate your References

You need to use credible references for this Assessment.

Credible references are articles from peer reviewed journals that are of high quality and can be used to support arguments that you are presenting. Articles in peer reviewed journals must go through an evaluation process with experts in the field before being published. The term refereed is also used.

The terms scholarly and academic are also sometimes used to indicate quality journals.

Remember the assignment instructions:

  • Reference your program textbook(s)
  • Minimum of 4 additional peer reviewed journal articles published from 2010 onwards
  • Review the assignment rubic to see what is required.

6. Synthesize ideas

Review the above video Essays - Synthesizing ideas by EMTeaching Videos (CC - BY 4.0 licence). This video will give you some ideas on how to synthesize ideas in your essay.

7. Write your Assignment

View the Student Engagement Unit's Academic Skills website for help writing your assignment, or to make an appointment with SEU staff.

7. Referencing

Need help referencing? Follow the roadmap!

More help: