Building estimating assignment 2 help
Getting started
This assignment help guide will give you some starting points to help you find supporting evidence for your individual essay.
Before you start read the assessment instructions available on your course website.
Plan your search
Typing your question into Google or the Library Collection is not the best way to search. Planning your search approach is key to finding relevant information.
Watch the following video to learn how to create a search strategy using the example question "Quality control on construction sites in Adelaide - whose responsibility?" Then apply the skills discussed to your own research question.
Video length: 4 mins 45 secs
More help
- How to plan your search - PDF (282 KB)This resource explains how to combine and connect search terms using OR, AND, NOT.
- Referencing websiteGuides you on how to display your references within your assignments (facilitated by the Learning Advisors).
Begin your search
The Library Collection can be a good place to start your search for relevant articles, papers, book chapters, and reports.
Search example
- Type each different concept into the search box. Connect these with AND.
Tip: use " " quotes to keep concepts together as an exact phrase.
- To broaden your search add synonyms or alternative keywords using the connector OR.
Tip: To do this in a single search box use brackets (...) to group synonyms together.​
- Select search. Apply limits using Refine my results (right).
Apply the search tips above to the Google Scholar search screen.
More help
- Advanced Google Scholar search videoVideo length: 1 min 22 secs
- Why use Google Scholar?Video length: 2 min 13 secs
Using databases
Library databases are search tools that allow you to find a range of literature. They are often subject specific (e.g. Ecospecifier) however, some can be multidisciplinary (e.g ProQuest Central).
It is a good idea to become familiar with some key Library databases to use throughout your studies.
ProQuest Central search example
- Open ProQuest Central and select the Advanced search option.
- Type your first concept into the search box. Use the connector OR to add any synonyms to broaden your search.
- Change the field to search Anywhere except full text - NOFT
- Select + Add Search Field to add your next search concept.
- Repeat again for any further concepts you want to search on.
- Select search. Use the Refine your search menu (left) to limit your search further.
Other databases to search
Apply the search skills learnt above to these databases below.