Finding scholarly and industry information for your literature review
Developing your research question
This page will help you find scholarly and industry information for your research paper. |
Read all the information related to your assessment to understand exactly what you need to do.
For your research paper you will need to develop a research question.
Watch the following video for help developing your research question. Please note that while the example is not an aviation specific example the same techniques apply.
Plan your search
Once you have developed your research question:
- Identify the content words or main ideas in your question
- Consider what the parameters of your research are e.g.
- do you need to find recent information
- what types of evidence do you need to find
|
We are using this example question in this Assignment help: "What do flight and cabin crew believe precipitates air rage in passengers during the Covid-19 pandemic? |
Create a table to map out terms
Think about how ideas can be represented in the literature and table or map out possible alternative keywords or synonyms:
| Main Concepts | Synonyms (alternative concepts) |
|
Concept 1 |
flight attendant, air crew, aviation crew |
|
Concept 2 |
unruly, angry, abusive, agitated, argumentative, difficult passengers, travelers, clients, customers |
|
Concept 3 |
cause, influence, alcohol, medication, jet lag, anxiety, stress, border closure, masks |
|
Concept 4 |
Coronavirus, COVID, SARS-CoV-2 outbreak, epidemic |
Tip: Scoping searches in the Library Collection, Google Scholar and Access Engineering can be useful to discover key terms by looking in in articles for relevant keywords.
Combine concepts to form your search strategy
Watch the following video for help building a search strategy by joining keywords using AND and OR.
Choose where to search
The Library holds range of search tools to help you find scholarly and industry information.
| Getting started | Key databases | Industry information |
| Library Collection | IBISWorld | |
| Google scholar | Scopus | Civil Aviation Authority |
| Access Engineering | IEEExplore | |
| PsycInfo | Federal Aviation Administration | |
| CAPA : Centre for Aviation | Analysis & Policy Observatory |
For more help watch:
Finding methodologies
-
SAGE Research Methods MapExplore the research methods terrain, read definitions of key terminology, and discover content relevant to your research methods journey.
Finding industry information
To find Australian aviation industry information use IBISWorld
Search example:
Once in a report choose the Navigation bar on the left hand side
To find Global aviation industry information try the database Passport GMID
Applying your search
It is recommended that you also search for relevant academic (scholarly) literature using Library databases.
Depending on your research question you may not need to search on every concept.
Search example in ProQuest Technology Collection - this includes the Advanced Technology & Aerospace and Materials Science & Engineering Databases
- Start by typing each different concept into a new search field. Connect these using AND. Choose to search anywhere except full text.
Tip: Use double quotation marks around around phrases to keep them together
- Add synonyms or alternative concepts to broaden your search. Connect these using OR.
- Add truncation in to broaden your search
- Select search. You can then use the left menu to limit your search further.
More Aviation databases
More help
Use the following help resources to put your paper together:
