What you need to do
| Please refer to your Course Outline and LearnOnline site for full assessment information. |
Plan your search
| Watch the video below on how to construct a search strategy |
- (video length: 3 min 41 sec)
Example question:
"Investigate and discuss the importance of diversity in the film industry."
1. Break your question down:
| Identify the task word(s) in your question. | "Investigate" and "discuss" |
| Next identify the content words in your question. You can find these by taking the task word and adding the question “What?” |
Investigate or discuss what?
|
2. Identify your key concepts
Think of synonyms or similar concepts that can be used. This is important as not everyone will use the same terminology.
| Concept 1: Diversity | Concept 2: Film Industry |
|
Synonyms or similar concepts:
|
Synonyms or similar concepts:
|
3. Build your search strategy
Connect your concepts using AND or OR
| (diversity OR multiculturalism) AND "film industry" |
Want to know more?
- Study help: Understanding assignment and instruction wordsUnderstanding task words (e.g. discuss, define, analyse etc.) allows you to answer the assessment properly.
Finding information
|
These example searches show you how to search:
The search terms listed below are not exhaustive. You will be expected to think of your own concepts based on what is outlined in your course assessment |
The Library Collection is a great place to start finding information.
| (diversity OR multiculturalism) AND "film industry" |
Too many search results? Use the Refine my Results menu (on the right hand side) to refine your search.
Further Help
- Finding Scholarly SourcesMost assessments require academic sources like peer reviewed journal articles, book and book chapters or reports. Understanding what you need will help you decide where to search.
Try Google Scholar to find scholarly information. Access Google Scholar from the Library home page to get access to the full text of any resources that we have in the UniSA library collection.
| (Equity OR diversity OR minority OR multiculturalism OR "cultural competence" OR "cultural differences" OR "cultural identity" OR inclusion OR equality OR discrimination) AND (“film industry” OR “movie industry” OR “motion picture industry” OR cinema) |
Further Help
- Link your Google Scholar session to UniSASet up your browser to display the "Fulltext at UniSA" feature in Google Scholar.
ProQuest Central features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
| Equity OR diversity OR minority OR multiculturalism OR "cultural competence" OR "cultural differences" OR "cultural identity" OR inclusion OR equality OR discrimination AND “film industry” OR “movie industry” OR “motion picture industry” OR cinema |
Further Help
- Learn more on how to search ProQuest Central (video 4 min 48)Video Length: 4 min 48 sec
Finding policy documents with APO
For this assignment, it has been recommended that you find your policy document using the Australian Analysis and Policy Observatory.
There are 3 key ways to search the APO website, all of which can be found in the menu bar at the top of the webpage:
- Select Browse to search by subject area.
- Select Collections to search the 'Cultural Policy & Creative Industries' Collection.
- If you know the name of a policy, you can type the name in to the Search Box.
Tip: Refine your search results to South Australian Documents using the Geographic Coverage option in the left hand menu.
A cultural policy is a plan or course of action that will influence and determine cultural decisions, actions and other cultural matters.
Note: A policy will sometimes be called by a different name. Examples include strategy, plan or procedure.
Cultural policy documents can come from a wide range of groups and organisations.
For the purposes of this assignment, you may select policy documents from:
- National (sub-national or local) governments
- Non-governmental organisations
- Transnational organisations
- Private companies
- Foundations
Writing your assignment
| Select the following links below for help on writing assignments at university as well as the different types of assignment formats you may be required to write. |
- Writing Assignments at UniversityUse this page to learn how to carefully plan and write your assignments, employing an appropriate writing style tailored to the specific task in your assignment.
- Writing essaysThis page features an overview of what an essay is, your lecturer’s expectations, the structure, and how to plan and write an essay, with examples from various disciplines.
- Writing reportsThis page features an overview of what a report is, the typical sections of a report, and tips for preparing one, with examples from various disciplines.
Developing an ePortfolio and career development
Please refer to the list of resources below designed to help you create your own portfolio at UniSA.
- ePortfolio: Start Guide for StudentsMahara eportfolio system is a web application that provides the opportunity to store, organise, create and display resources you create for course assignments to a range of audiences such as instructors, potential employers and colleagues.
- Using ePortfolio for AssessmentsAn assessment may require you to submit a Page or a Collection from your ePortfolio. A Collection is a group of ePortfolio pages you add together so they can easily be shared. Instructions on how to submit your ePortfolio can be found in the Submitting ePortolio assessments help resource.
- ePortfolio: Create PagesAn ePortfolio page is a collection of items that you can put together and present to other users.
- Career Development PlanYou may also find it useful to look at UniSA's Career Services online module called Introduction to Career Development, Planning and Management
Referencing support
- Referencing websiteResources on different referencing styles. Find examples of in-text citations and references for diverse formats including articles, books and book chapters, websites and more.
Note: Always check your Course Outline or LearnOnline site for the referencing style required for your course.
Other referencing support tools:
What do you do with all those references you have found?
Use bibliographic management software to store, organise and cite your references. The Library supports the bibliographic management tool EndNote. There are also many free systems available.