Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections

The Social Work Historical Collection was established by the School of Social Work and Social Policy at the University of South Australia to collect material about the history of social work in South Australia. It includes material donated from researchers at the three South Australian universities and social work practitioners in the government and non-government welfare sector. Donors include: Clare Withers, Elaine Martin, Dale Bagshaw, Margaret Brown, Judith Pink, Cynthia Duncan, Geraldine Jones, Marie Mune and the Anglican Social Welfare Library.

The Collection includes published and unpublished material including reports, papers, policies, correspondence, newsletters, newspaper clippings and audio recordings including oral interviews as well as a collection of books. Study guides and notes from former social work students and lecturers are also included.

Banner images - Archival boxes, book covers from the Collection, UniSA Library 2021
Access and explore the collection

The Collection is housed at the University of South Australia Mawson Lakes Campus. Access is by appointment only. 

Contact Ask the Library to make an appointment or for more information. 

You can explore the Collection through the Publications Box List and the Archival Box List available from the Special Collections Catalogue.

Picture - Stack of books from the Social Work Historical Collection, UniSA Library 2021
Discover more