Archives and Special Collections: Special Collections

Special collections

Introduction to the Special Collections

The Library has a diverse range of special collections. These collections contribute to a rich political, social and public health history of Australia, with a particular focus on South Australia. They include the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander collection, the Art collection, and collections which support areas of interest to UniSA’s students, staff, researchers and the general public.

These collections contain rare, fragile, archival and culturally sensitive material and are housed in the Jeffrey Smart Building ont the UniSA City West Campus. Special Collections items are available for in-library use only, with the exception of the University Publications Collection which can be borrowed for a 28 day period.  Details about collection items can be accessed by searching the Library Catalogue or contacting Ask the Library.

For further information, please explore the collections by selecting the relevant tile below.

Searching the collections

The special collections can be searched using the search box below, or by visiting the UniSA Library Catalogue.

Search the Library Catalogue

 

To search the Special Collections, type in keywords relating to your search topic. Then, using the filters under the 'Tweak my results' menu on the left, select the collection of interest under the heading Collections.

To access to items of interest, please record the title and call number and contact Ask the Library to arrange a time to access material.  To borrow material from the University Publications Collection, a free community membership is required. To learn more about community membership, please visit the Community/Reciprocal Membership webpage.


Navigate to Gavin Walkley collection page  Navigate to Colin Thiele collection page  Navigate to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander collection page

 Navigate to art collection page  Navigate to History of Primary Education in SA collection page  Navigate to University Publications collection page