Business: UniSA Online - BUSS 3107: International Business Environments

Assignment Help

Research your international business plan          

1. BUSS 3107: International Business Environments

The assessments in this course are primarily based upon developing an effective International Business Plan to assist an Australian company with the decision to expand business operations into a new overseas location.

There are two assessment points in this course:

1. Assessment 1Business proposal

2. Assessment 2International business plan

 

This page has been created to help you find the following information you need for your assessments including finding:

  1. information about the company you're looking into 
  2. information about the industry the company operates within
  3. country information
  4. Academic literature to support your recommendations
image of information icon For full assessment details please refer to your course site.

2. Plan your search

The library holds a range of databases (search tools) to help you find company, industry and country information.

Company information top picks Industry information top picks Country information top picks
Ivybrook Farm's website

Passport GMID

IBISWorld

Passport GMID

Business Source Ultimate

I want more I want more I want more
D&B Hoovers Business Source Ultimate OECD data

Tip: Both Passport GMID and Business Source Ultimate country reports may discuss Covid-19.

3. Company and Industry information guide

This guide will help you search the web and our databases to find company and industry information, financial information and annual reports. 

You can also use the Library's Company and Industry Information guide for:

4. Finding industry Information

Passport GMID is a global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, surveys on industries, countries and consumers worldwide. To find industry information:

  • On the Home Page, select Industries then your chosen industry (e.g. Drinks) on top of page.

  • Scroll down to the Explore Analysis box.
  • Select your company/brand's industry, choose Country Report for analysis, choose the product's category then choose the appropriate country from the drop down menu, and select Go.

  • Your country report should automatically open.
  • Using the menu at the top of the report, you can navigate through different information such as industry analysis, datagraphics and related industries.

IBISWorld provides company reports for the top 2000 Australian companies as well as detailed Industry reports on Australian industries and selected US and Chinese Industries. Industry reports include information such as:

  • SWOT analyses
  • Major competitors
  • Products and markets
  • competitive landscape

To find industry reports type your industry within the main search box, e.g. wine, then select search.

  • From the results page, you can filter your results by Country (Australia, US, China or Global), to show relevant results. You can also filter results by Report > Industry or Company.

You can also browse industries by selecting Industry research > Choose a country or global (e.g. US) > Select appropriate report.

For Australian Industry Reports, you can find Covid-19 Impact update and Risk Ratings Report.

Business Source Ultimate gives access to Company Profiles, Industry Reports, Country Reports, SWOT Analysis, and Market Research Reports. The database is USA focused but includes some Australian and international companies and industries as well.

To search for an industry profile, enter the name of the industry (e.g. wine) in the search box and click Search.

On the left hand side under Refine Results, select Source Types, (click Show More to see full range of sources):

And in the pop-up box, select Industry Profiles then hit the Update button.

5. Finding country information

Passport GMID search example

  • On the Home Page, select Economies tab, then Economy, Finance and Trade tab (top of page).

  • Scroll down to the Explore Analysis box.
  • Choose Country Report for analysis, select Economy, Finance and Trade for category, then search for your desired country from the drop down menu, and select Go.

Business Source Ultimate example

  • Type your country into the search box.
  • Type risk report into the second box, then search. 
  • Select the most recent risk report from the results.

6. Finding academic literature

The Library collection can be a useful starting point in locating academic references to support your arguments. 

To do a search, try using

  • double quotes for phrases
  • truncation* to find the plural and other forms of a word
  • connect using AND, OR and NOT

At the results list you can:

  • Limit to articles from Peer Reviewed publications 
  • Limit by Date eg 2017 to 2022

Complete the Library Collection interactive tutorial for additional searching tips.

Google Scholar searches only within academic or scholarly sites, rather than over the whole internet like a regular Google Search. 

Make sure you access Google Scholar from the library website. You will be able to link directly to articles that the Library has access to by clicking on the Full-text at UniSA link.

Watch the video: Why use Google Scholar? to find out more. 

Business Source Ultimate is a database which covers all things business and includes peer-reviewed journals. 

You can limit your search to retrieve only peer-reviewed articles by ticking the scholarly/peer reviewed option. You can also limit your search by date range.

7. Report writing

Now that your research is completed it is time to put all of your information together. Watch this short video (approx 3 mins) for tips on how to write a report:

Study Help is an online hub packed with useful assignment and study resources and tips.

Have a look at:

8. Referencing support

Referencing Roadmap (Harvard)
Need help referencing? Follow the roadmap!

Referencing Roadmap (Harvard)
Help with the Harvard UniSA referencing style. Find in text-citations and reference examples, from different sources such as articles, books & chapters, websites, and more.

Other referencing support tools:

  • Referencing forum
    Discuss referencing, exchange advice and post questions and answers about referencing (facilitated by Student Engagement Unit).
  • What do you do with all those references you have found?

    Use a bibliographic management software to store, organise and cite your references. The Library supports the bibliographic management tool EndNote. There are also many free systems available.

    Feedback