Guides: Company and Industry Information: Home

Quick guide - companies

Find company information

Are you looking for?	Is the company...?	Try these databases:
Australian companies	Public	Company360 IBISWorld DatAnalysis Premium (Morningstar)
	Private	Company360 IBISWorld
	Government bodies Non-profit organisations	ACNC Charity Register IBISWorld
International companies (May contain some Australian content)	Public	Business Source Ultimate D&B Hoovers (Dun & Bradstreet) Passport (Euromonitor) Hoover's Company Profiles (ProQuest) EMIS Next for Academic Research Gale Business: Insights
	Private

Searching for company with ticker or stock symbol

A ticker or stock symbol is the abbreviation or code used to identify a company on a stock exchange. Most databases search by company name or ticker and will identify ticker symbols. Use the below quick look-up sites:

ASX Company Information
Search for company codes or name via the company dictionary on the ASX website.
Stock exchanges worldwide
Covers Africa, Asia including Australia, Europe, Middle East, North America, South America.

Trade publications

Australian Financial Review
The Australian Financial Review covers a range of topics, including business, finance, investment and politics.
Harvard Business Review
HBR provides insights on strategy, innovation, management and leadership and is a key business tool.
The Economist
The Economist is a British trade magazine that covers current affairs, international business, politics, technology and culture.

Quick guide - industries

Find industry information

Are you looking for?	Try these databases:
Australian industries	D&B Hoovers (Dun & Bradstreet) IBISWorld
International industries (May contain some Australian content)	Business Source Ultimate D&B Hoovers IBISWorld Passport (Euromonitor) WARC (World Advertising Research Center) EMIS Next for Academic Research Gale Business: Insights Statista

Where to find Company and Industry Information - PDF (202 KB)
A printable quick reference table of where to search for Company and Industry Information.

Searching for industry by classification code

Industry classification systems and standards are used by government and business for classifying industries by numerical code. Some of the largest industry classification systems include:

Australian and New Zealand Standard Industrial Classification (ANZSIC)
ANZSIC has been developed for use in the compilation and analysis of industry statistics in Australia and New Zealand.
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
NAICS was adopted in 1997 to replace the Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) codes. Many databases in this guide allow searching by NAICS codes.
Standard Industrial Classification (SIC)
SIC was replaced by NAICS. Because SIC is still used by some government bodies and in some markets, a number of databases allow searching by SIC code.
Global Industry Classification Standard (GICS)
GICS provides investors with consistent industry definitions to help understand the key business activities for companies around the world.