Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Company and Industry Information: Company Financials

Welcome to the Company Information workshop.

Market index information

A market index is a calculation used to track and compare investment performance.

DatAnalysis Video and Interactive Tutorial

Watch the below video to get a general overview of using DatAnalysis to find a range of financial information along with the ASX website:

Now that you have watched the video, take the skills you have learned and apply them within this interactive tutorial:

   Finding Financial Information Using DatAnalysis interactive tutorial. 

DatAnalysis Premium - Morningstar (Australia - public)

This database provides comprehensive information for all Australian Stock Exchange listed companies. These reports are updated daily from relevant ASX announcements.  Information includes:

  • Balance sheet
  • Cash flow
  • Growth rates
  • Price history 

  • Revenue/expense
  • Dividend history
  • Sundry analysis
  • Asset base

Tip: To find financial information in DatAnalysis, search for company and then select Financial Data from the menu on the left hand side.

screenshot of financial data link in side menu of DatAnalysis

See these guides:   Financial Data Points & Financial Data search examples

Eikon (formerly Thomson One Banker) (International)

A comprehensive investment tool used by financial and investment analysts, incorporating DataStream and Thomson One.

  • Current data of exchange-traded instruments e.g. stocks, warrants, options, futures, indexes
  • Historical equity data
  • Government and corporate bonds
  • Foreign exchange rates
  • Commodities and energy
  • Economic indicators (e.g. consumer price index)

See the Quick Start Guide (PDF)
Thomson Reuters have also created a series of training videos on how to use Eikon.

Bank Focus

A comprehensive banking database that you can use to identify, analyze and monitor banks and other financial institutions. Information includes: 

  • 'As reported' data
  • Standardized data for detailed like-for-like analysis
  • Updated templates that reflect the latest accounting and regulatory disclosures
  • Market indicators, credit ratings, and Credit Default Swap (CDS) information
  • Information on banks including news, unique identifiers and original filings

Tip: To find financial information in BankFocus, Use the Quick search bar and search by the company name.

For information on an advanced search, login to BankFocus > select the Help Icon > then select the 'Build a search' quick guide created by BankFocus.

Company360 (Australia - public and private)

Provides access to Australia's most in-depth business and analysis tool covering over 50,000 of Australia's leading private and public companies. Financial information can be downloaded into an excel document and includes:

  • Income Statements
  • Balance Sheets
  • Cash Flow Statements
  • Profitability Ratios

Tip: To find financial information in Company360, search for company and then select Financials from the menu on the right hand side.

Please only generate a report when required as the Library is charged (via credits) for data such as company profiles/reports/financials. If you need more credits to generate a report please contact the Library.
See the User Guide for quick start tips on searching Company360

D&B Hoovers (formerly OneSource) (International - public and private)

Provides business information and sales intelligence on millions of companies and executives worldwide.

  • Access to broker reports for publicly listed organisations
  • Industry reports
  • SWOT reports for the top 5,000 global companies
  • Financial information including annual ratios, stock reports, geographical segments, business segments, income statements, balance sheets and cash flow

The company snapshot includes key financials. You can find more financial details in the panel on the left-hand side of the page.

Screenshot of Financials section of D&B Hoovers database

Dictionaries & Encyclopaedias

Not sure what a financial term means? Have a look at some of the financial dictionaries and encyclopedias available through the library.