Guides: Company and Industry Information: Country information

Country information

OECD data
Browse by country to view statistics and information on the economy, finance, government and more.
Statista
Find high quality country reports which include data on consumers and the economy.
Passport
View country reports to understand the market landscape with interactive visualisations of industry, category and geographical data.
Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) The World Factbook
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for over 250 world entities.
Country Statistical Yearbooks
Links to country statistical yearbooks and similar collections for over 150 countries.
Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT): Countries, economies and regions
Information about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of almost 240 countries and economies
IMD World Competitiveness Yearbook
Assess competitiveness of nations. Select countries to benchmark and view results in tables or charts. Compare economic performance, government efficiency, business efficiency and infrastructure. Additional current competitiveness report information is available on the IMD's World Competitiveness Center's website.
International Country Risk Guide (ICRG) Researcher's Dataset
ICRG uses over 30 metrics affecting political, financial, and economic risk for over 140 developed, emerging, and frontier markets. The composite risk rating table (2B) contains annual averages from 1984 to 2015. The political risk table (3B) contains annual averages from 1984 through to 2014.
OxResearch
This database offers analytical articles on regional and global political and economic developments. It examines issues and events from an economic, social and political viewpoint.
EIU Country Data
EIU Country Data provides political and economic analysis and forecasts for nearly 190 countries.

Key databases

Business Source Ultimate
Provides information covering all areas of business including accounting and finance; banking; finance and insurance; construction; computer science; economics and more. Includes country economic reports as well as detailed company profiles.

To find country reports in Business Source Ultimate:

Enter the name of a country in the search box and select GE Geographic Terms from the drop down box
Tip: To find Country Risk Reports enter the words Risk Reports in the second search box.
Click the Search button or press Enter to run the search.
Under Refine Results, select Source Types > Country Reports (select Show More to see the full range of sources)
Remember to check the publication date of the report for currency of the data.

EMIS Next for Academic Research

EMIS Next is an emerging markets business intelligence database. Using this database, you can explore historical and current data as well as forecasted trends for over 125 countries.

From the home page, select Markets and scroll down to Countries/regions profiles for individual countries.

International Monetary Fund

The International Monetary Fund's primary purpose is to ensure the stability of the international monetary system. It is an organisation of 189 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty.

Access IMF Factsheets.

Download flagship IMF publications in PDF format (only current issue available).

Access the following resources via the UniSA Library:

IMF reports and publications by country

Tip: Sign up to receive free e-mail notices when new series and/or country items are posted on the IMF website

IMF Primary Commodity Prices includes prices and forecasts, commodity markets

IMF Data provides access to macroeconomic and financial data

Data portal via Research tab

Access to datasets
Data topics: sectors are external, financial, cross-domain, fiscal, real

IMF DataMapper
An interactive data visualisation tool that allows users to select data across countries, regions, and groups.

World Bank provides financial and technical assistance to developing countries to end extreme poverty, support development and promote shared prosperity in a sustainable manner. The World Bank Group comprises five institutions managed by their member countries.

Learn about the World Bank's projects and operations by:

Learn about global development and browse by:

Additional resources:

World Bank Open Knowledge Repository
Open access repository for World Bank research outputs and knowledge products.
World Development Indicators
The primary World Bank collection of development indicators, presenting the most current and accurate global development data available. Includes national, regional and global estimates.

World Bank: Data
Free access to the range of World Bank public databases, including the World Development indicators database
World Bank Microdata Library
Access to microdata that provide information about people living in developing countries, their institutions, environment, communities and the operation of their economies. Browse by collection or search by country, topic, or indicator.
World Bank Open Finances
Open Finances makes World Bank Group’s financials available for everybody to explore.