Properties and calculations
Standards and properties
Find information on physical and chemical properties using the following resources:
- Australian Medicines Handbook (AMH)An independent company which provides reliable, comparative drug information to promote quality use of medicines in Australia.
- Braunschweig Enzyme Database (BRENDA)BRENDA is the main collection of enzyme functional data available to the scientific community. It is available free of charge for academic, non-profit users via the Internet. Covers a wide range of enzyme characteristics. More than 50 fields containing close to half a million entries can be queried in various combinations.
- British pharmacopoeiaThe official collection of standards for UK medicinal products and pharmaceutical substances. Produced by the British Pharmacopoeia Commission Secretariat of the Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency, the BP makes an important contribution to public health by setting publicly available standards for the quality of medicines.
- ChemIDplusA free, web-based search system that provides access to structure and nomenclature authority files used for the identification of chemical substances cited in National Library of Medicine (NLM) databases, including the TOXNET system. ChemIDplus also provides structure searching and direct links to many biomedical resources at NLM and on the Internet for chemicals of interest. The database contains chemical records, of which several include chemical structures, and is searchable by Name, Synonym, CAS Registry Number, Molecular Formula, Classification Code, Locator Code, Structure, Toxicity, and/or Physical properties.
- MedicinesCompleteMedicinesComplete provides a comprehensive online resource allowing access to a number of health-focused databases.
- MIMS OnlineAustralia's most comprehensive and authoritative medicine database. It includes data from MIMS abbreviated and full medicines information, product images and consumer medicines information, and provides essential information on prescription and non-prescription drugs. Now includes The Australian Prescriptions Product Guide (APP Guide).
- SciFinderIncludes a broad spectrum of technical and scientific information based on the CAplus, CASREACT, and Registry databases from the Chemical Abstracts Service. It indexes journals, books, conferences, patents, dissertations - in chemistry, biochemistry, physical, inorganic, analytical chemistry, applied chemistry, chemical engineering, macromolecular chemistry and organic chemistry. Updated daily.
Properties
A chemical profile of a multilayer coating false colour cross-section with inter-layer ingress generated using ToFSIMS.
Analysing the chemical composition of coatings allows the aerospace industry to optimise the coatings’ galvanisation and anti-corrosion properties. The multilayered structure consists of the substrate, primer and topcoat. The cross-section is embedded in resin for support, as shown by the black band at the top of the image. The topcoat (blue layer) was chemically imaged by identifying the fragmentary mass CN (a urethane which contains this chemical linkage). The green band is the primer, containing Cl. The separate chemistry in the different layers can be used to examine the layer thickness and integrity.