Skip to Main Content

Find information

Where to Search

Knowing where to search is just as important as knowing how to search.  The following video will help you to understand why and when to use different search tools.

Video Length: 2 min 14 sec

Key points from the video
  • Knowing where to search is just as important as knowing how to search.
  • Not all search tools will give you access to the same information.
  • Understanding why and when to use different search tools will save you time.
  • The Library Collection:
    • is a good place to search for scholarly material.
    • provides free access to a variety of resources types across a range of subject areas.
  • Databases:
    • help focus your search and have more advanced searching options.
  • Google Scholar:
    • provides access to a wide range of resources, but not all of it is scholarly.
    • use the Google Scholar link from the Library website for best access to full-text references.
  • Some types of specific information are best found using a search engine or specific website.
  • All resources need to be evaluated before using them.

Search the Library Collection

The Library Collection is a good place to start your search for finding eBooks, journal articles, reports, videos, and more.

Learn more on how to search collection.

Video Length: 3 min 33 sec

 

How to read a Library collection record

Databases

Databases are online collections of resources including articles, papers, book chapters and reports. Databases have advanced search options, helping to focus your search and find more relevant, scholarly references quickly.

Want to Know More?

Read: How to Save Time Searching Databases - PDF (301KB)

 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar searches only within academic or scholarly sites, rather than the whole internet. You will be able to link directly to articles that the Library has access to by clicking on the Full-text at UniSA link.

Search in Google Scholar directly from the Library homepage for best access to full-text references.

Screenshot of Google Scholar box on UniSA Library Collection homepage

Use the Full-text at UniSA feature in Google Scholar to access subscription restricted resources only available at UniSA.

Learn more on how to search Google Scholar.

Video Length: 3 min 5 sec

Find More Information

Find News Media

The Library's News Media Guide provides help searching and evaluating a wide range of Australian and International news media including newspapers, television, radio and media releases.  Start your search with:

Find Statistics

A huge range of statistical resources can be found via the Library collection and databases.  

OR when searching databases or the collection for statistics, simply add the word 'statistics' into your search.

Find Videos

Access to a wide range of video content through a number of key video databases, including:

OR When searching the library collection, use the Tweak my Results menu to refine the Resource Type to Audio Visual

Find Conference Papers

Conference papers or proceedings are the written version of presentations given at conferences or meetings or professional or scholarly bodies and organisations. Conference papers can be a great way to find up to date information, research trends and innovations on a specific topic because researchers often present their findings first at conferences.

To search for conference papers:

  • Include the words conference and/or proceedings in your search.
  • Refine your results by type or format to limit your results to conference proceedings.
  • Search the Conference proceedings citation index database.
  • Search the websites of specific conferences or organisations.

Select Appropriate References

While you are finding references, you need to think about whether they are appropriate to use in your assignment.  You may be asked to use Scholarly or Peer Reviewed material to support your arguments. 

You should evaluate all resources  before including them in your assignment - even if you found them through the Library Collection or Databases.

Want to Know More?

Read: How to Find Scholarly Sources - PDF (305KB)

Watch Study Help: Scholarly Sources Explained (video length: 2 min 22 sec)

Watch Study Help: Evaluating Information (video length: 3 min 17 sec)