Geospatial science
Geoscience Resources
- Australian Government: GeoScience AustraliaProducing teaching resources for primary and secondary levels. Resources include background information, student activities, full-colour cut-out 3D models and posters.
Exploring for the Future is an Australian Government program, led by Geoscience Australia, dedicated to exploring Australia’s resource potential and boosting investment, watch the following video for more information.
Video Length: 2:00
- Atlas of Living Australia (ALA)The Atlas of Living Australia (ALA) is a collaborative, digital, open infrastructure that pulls together Australian biodiversity data from multiple sources, making it accessible and reusable.
- Australian Urban Research Infrastructure Network (AURIN)AURIN aims to provide urban and built environment researchers with access to diverse sources of data, data integration capabilities, and an e-research capability for interrogating those data.
- Australian Antarctic Data CentreThe Australian Antarctic Data Centre is committed to free and open exchange of research data. The site contains spatial, biological and physical data.
- Bureau of Meteorology (BOM)The Bureau of Meteorology is Australia's national weather, climate and water agency. Its expertise and services assist Australians in dealing with the harsh realities of their natural environment, including drought, floods, fires, storms, tsunami and tropical cyclones.
- ANZLIC Foundation Spatial Data FrameworkThe FSDF-LINK is the digital realisation of the Foundation Spatial Data Framework. It exposes the supply chains of datasets from the state and territory jurisdictions to the national datasets and the products created from those national datasets.
- National MapNational Map is a website for map-based access to spatial data from Australian government agencies.
- Australian Institute of GeoscientistsIs a not for profit organisation which aims to advance the skills, status and public perception of its members. Its officers and members are drawn from a wide range of geoscience fields. The AIG encourages transfer of technical expertise and awareness of employment opportunities both within and outside traditional resource-based geoscientific activities.
- Mapping Sciences Institute, AustraliaThe Mapping Sciences Institute is an association of professionals engaged in map-making and/or geospatial science - where the latter is defined as “the study of the spatial aspects of terrestrial and geographic datasets.”
- AGSON - Australian Geological Survey Organisations NetworkAimed at providing a portal to link the information of the State, Territory and Australian Government geoscience agencies
- NASA image galleriesNASA's image library consolidates imagery and videos in one searchable location.
ArcGIS
Students are able to access a range of application software from their own device, including both Windows and Mac computers.
ArcGIS is a mapping and analysis solution that allows you to create your own web map applications. Access is available for students to download to their personal devices.
- UniSA Software & AppsUniSA student's software & apps page.
Databases
- BioOneCollection of full-text research journals in the biological, ecological and environmental sciences.
- Gale OneFile: ScienceProvides researchers with the latest scientific developments in particle physics, advanced mathematics, nanotechnology, geology, computer sciences and more.
- Science database (ProQuest)The collection contains environmental science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, environmental impact statements, and bibliographic records.