Skip to Main Content

UO BUSS 2076 / BUSS 2036: Training and Development

1. Your assessments

This assignment help page will help get you started finding resources for your assessments.

Both assessments for this course (1. Case study and 2. Project) require that you analyse a scenario and respond to questions in the context of the scenario. Your answers must bring together the concepts and theories in the coursework with your observations on the information provided in the scenario. Avoid discussing concepts generally without applying them to specific facts from the scenario.

* Please see your course outline and course learnonline site for full assessment details.

Golden rules
1. Addressing case study questions
Do not just describe, but analyse (know the difference between these two!):

  • define key T&D concepts within each question from coursework,
  • support each definition using academically appropriate reference/s (in-text citation and matching reference entry required),
  • apply the concepts to specific relevant facts in the Scenario to form a discussion that addresses all aspects of the question, and
  • support your discussions with a range of academically appropriate references (see #2).

2. Referencing

  • support each key concept / area of discussion with academically appropriate references (6+ for Assessment 1 and 10+ for Assessment 2). Academically appropriate references may include resources in coursework and peer-reviewed articles from journals about T&D or HR (not, for example, from journals about work safety, education, or other disciplines). Refer to e-readings and ‘Assessment Guide – Training and Development’.
  • use a diverse range of academically appropriate references for each point you make. As a guide, if you have written more than 250 words without a reference you have likely not provided sufficient referencing! 
  • use APA 7 referencing style (see the Referencing support box on this page) except when referencing facts from the scenario.
  • when referencing the scenario, use quotation marks around the relevant text and an in-text citation (e.g. (S) or (CS)). No entry is required in your reference list 
    • Example: Company X places an increasing emphasis on developing leaders who ‘can hold up under pressure’ (S), demonstrating…

3. Writing perspective 

  • write in the first person, as if you are the T&D Manager for the Education Department. Example of first person writing: I recommend…

3. What is a refereed academic journal?

You need to reference:

  • at least 6 refereed (peer-reviewed) journal articles for Assessment1. Case Study, and  
  • at least 10 refereed (peer-reviewed) journal articles for Assessment 2. Project.

Additionally, you may use reference material suggested in your course outline. Keep in mind your assignment is asking for an understanding of contemporary training and development practices, so your articles need to be current (i.e. within the last 10-12 years).

To find out how to make sure information is academic, scholarly, or peer reviewed, watch our video on Scholarly Sources Explained (2 min 22 sec).

4. Plan your search

To find information you will need to think of keywords in your topic that you can use in your search.

  1. Determine your keywords/search terms, and
  2. Next think of synonyms or alternative words for these keywords.

For more information and tips on planning your search:

5. Search tips

Learn how to search the library collection and databases effectively with the resources below (video 1 min 45 sec):

7. Where to search

The Library Collection can be a useful tool for locating academic references. It is like a search engine that searches across the Library’s collection of print and electronic books, DVDs, journals and theses, together with journal and newspaper articles from numerous databases.

To do a search, try using

  • "double quotes" for phrases
  • truncation* to find the plural and other forms of a word
  • connect using AND, OR and NOT

Library collection search: "job design" AND satisfaction

At the results list you can:

  • Limit to articles from Peer Reviewed publications 
  • Limit by Date e.g. 2019 to 2024
  • See the full text for many items by selecting the title, then look for the Online link
  • See Library Collection Help for additional searching tips.

Google Scholar searches only within academic or scholarly sites, rather than over the whole internet like a regular Google Search. 

Make sure you access Google Scholar from the library website. You will be able to link directly to articles that the Library has access to by clicking on the Full-text at UniSA link.

Library home page with Google Scholar tab highlighted

Watch the video (2 min 13 sec): Why use Google Scholar? to find out more. 

Business Source Ultimate provides information covering all areas of business including accounting and finance; banking; finance and insurance; construction; computer science; economics and more. Includes country economic reports as well as detailed company profiles.

This is an example of an Advanced Search using Business Source Ultimate.

Sample search in Business Source Ultimate

You can limit your search by date range and to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals from the box on the left hand side of the results screen.

8. Evaluate resources

For your assessments, you will need to find credible resources.

A credible reference can also be known as a scholarly source or peer reviewed (refereed) article. 

The following video (3 min 17 sec) will help you evaluate the sources you have found.

Critical thinking is an essential part of taking a scholarly approach to learning. It involves analysing and questioning information you receive to arrive at logical, well-reasoned conclusions.

The following resources will assist you in understanding and developing your critical thinking and analysing skills needed for your assignment.

9. Referencing support

Managing your references

What do you do with all those references you have found? Use a bibliographic management software to store, organise and cite your references.

There are many free systems available. The Library supports the bibliographic management tool EndNote. For more information see the EndNote guide.