Inclusive practice
Inclusive practice
Inclusive practice aims to respect and acknowledge diverse groups of people, including Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples, members of the LGBTIQ+ community and people with disabilities. Use this page to find resources that support inclusive healthcare practice.
Yurirka: Proppa Engagement with Aboriginal Peoples
Yurirka: Proppa Engagement with Aboriginal Peoples is a guide designed for the University of South Australia’s staff and students. It is a valuable resource in our shared commitment to work, engage and partner respectfully with Aboriginal Peoples.
Purkarninthi in Residence (UniSA's Elders in Residence) share their reflections on the resource and its contributions to respectful engagement and reconciliation.
- Yurirka: Proppa Engagement with Aboriginal Peoples PDF, (1.2 MB)Educational resource created to inform users’ knowledge and understanding of Aboriginal history, cultures, and Peoples.
Cultural safety resources
- Australian Indigenous Health InfoNetThis resource supports healthcare professionals to provide accessible and culturally safe healthcare to Australian Aboriginal peoples.
- Australian Indigenous Health InfoNet Youtube ChannelVideo content which supports the Indigenous Health InfoNet resources. The Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet is dedicated to improving the health of Australia's Aboriginal people.
- Cultural Respect Framework 2016 - 2026 for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander HealthThe National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Standing Committee (NATSIHSC) developed this framework for the The Health Ministers' Advisory Committee (AHMAC). This document supports all states and territories in embedding cultural respect principles into their health systems.
- Cultural Safety in healthcare for Indigenous Australians: monitoring frameworkFramework from the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare. This framework was developed in consultation with key stakeholders including the National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Standing Committee by reviewing relevant policy documents, academic literature, and national and state level data sources.
- Resources to support culturally safe service delivery to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoplesThis resource sheet is provided by the Australian Institute of Family Studies. This list of resources may support non-Aboriginal practitioners in the delivery of culturally safe services and care to individuals and families of members of the Aboriginal community.
- Well MobA wide range of social, emotional and cultural wellbeing online resources for Aboriginal people. This includes further information and links to helplines, apps, websites, podcasts, videos, social media and online programs.
- Australian Refugee Health GuideThis guide is a collection of resources to support healthcare providers in delivering services to people from refugee backgrounds. This includes links focused on prominent health concerns, population specific information and information regarding communication considerations.
- Embrace Multicultural Mental HealthRun by Mental Health Australia and supported by funding from the Australian Government Department of Health and Aged Care. This page is a joint project between the Federation of Ethnic Communities' Council of Australia (FECCA), and the National Ethnic Disability Alliance (NEDA).
- Health TranslationsA free library of high quality Australian multilingual health and wellbeing information funded by the State Government of Victoria. These resources have been created with health practitioners and people who work with culturally and linguistically diverse communities in mind.
- Culture, Ethnicity and HealthContains further information and links to resources on multiculturalism and health. A resource hub for cultural competence, language services and multicultural health services.
Video length: 21:05
Sexual and gender diversity resources
- Rainbow Health AustraliaRainbow Health Australia supports lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans and gender diverse, intersex and queer (LGBTIQ) health and wellbeing. Explore research and resources.
- LGBTIQ+ Health AustraliaThe national peak body for LGBTIQ+ health and wellbeing for organisations and individuals that provide health-related programs, services and research. Knowledge Hub includes reports, community and workforce resources.
- Australian Physiotherapy Association LGBTQIA+ HubThe APA's LGBTQIA+ advisory panel was formed to increase awareness, inclusivity, and advocacy for the LGGTQIA+ community. The panel have been developing and delivering a range of contemporary resources and and educational materials.
- SHINE SAProvides comprehensive and integrated sexual and reproductive health services and programs. Find comprehensive factsheets and resources for professionals.
Video length: 22:35
Neurodiversity resources
- Amaze "What is Autism?" free online trainingFree online course which includes an overview and introduction to autism and some practical information and knowledge about how to be more autism aware. Provides some foundational awareness about autism and the Autistic community.
- Aspect: News, resources and mediaAutism Spectrum Australia (Aspect) is a not-for-profit organisation supporting people of all ages on the autism spectrum and their families. This resource provides further links and information regarding autism research and services.
- Aspect video libraryThis is the Vimeo video library for Autism Spectrum Australia (Aspect). This video library contains a wide range of content across all areas of the work that Aspect engages in as an organisation.
- Reframing Autism - working as a neurodiversity-affirming professionalThrough research, resources and education, this organisation provides resources and information in order to promote better understanding of the lived experience of Autism.
Disability and inclusion resources
- Allied health professions Australia disability informationContains information about the ways in which Allied Health Professions Australia supports people with disabilities to improve their wellness, health and quality of life.
- Blind Citizens AustraliaThis organisation is the national representative organisation of people who are blind or vision impaired.
- Centre for Cultural Diversity in DisabilityThis organisation provides support regarding cultural awareness and disability.
- Disability Australia HubThis page contains resources and information focused on disability knowledge and advocacy.
- First Peoples Disability NetworkThis is a human rights organisation with a focus on supporting Australia's first peoples with disability, their families and communities.
- Inclusion AustraliaThis is the peak body for intellectual disability in Australia. This organisation has been advocating for the rights of people with an intellectual disability since 1954.
- Inclusive Health : Caring for patients with intellectual disabilitiesVideo (14:04mins) from UCLA Health
- Inclusive SAInformation about the South Australian Disability inclusion plan and Disability Action and Inclusion Plans.
- National ethnic disability allianceThis organisation advocates for the human rights of people from culturally and linguistically diverse (CALD) backgrounds with disability and their families.
- People with disabilities Australia: language guideThis resource provides some guidance around the use of disability related language, identifying commonly misused terms and recommending suitable alternatives.
Video length: 14:52
Books
Culture, Diversity and Health in Australia by ISBN: 1003138551Culture, Diversity and Health in Australia is a sensitive, richly nuanced and comprehensive guide to effective health practice in Australia today and is a key reference text for either undergraduate or postgraduate students studying health care. It will also be of interest to professional health care practitioners and policy administrators.
Health Care and Indigenous Australians by ISBN: 9781352005424Publication Date: 2019-03-18Now in its third edition, this core textbook offers a comprehensive framework for creating a culturally safe environment and enhancing health outcomes for Indigenous Australians.- 2SLGBTQ+ Healthcare byPublication Date: 2022
