BEHL 1004: Psychology 1B Essay
About this page
|
Task: Essay plan and Essay This guide is designed to provide you with information and tips to help you find academic sources including peer reviewed journal articles for your assessment. Please view your course page and course outline for full assessment details |
Is it an 'academic' source?
- Find scholarly sources guide - PDF (305.38 KB)
Identify the key features of scholarly articles and books includes how to find peer reviewed articles.
Searching tips
Searching the collection
The Library collection is a great place to find books and articles for you essay.
Searching can be trial and error to see what keywords or combination of keywords work. Here are some example searches:
| Piaget AND "cognitive development" | disorder* AND etiology | prosocial AND situation* |
| disorder* AND etiology | "early childhood" OR "early development" | personality trait* |
Once you have run your search use the Refine my results to narrow your results. Here are some examples:
- Narrow Resource Type to Books or Articles
- Show Only select Peer-reviewed Journals (note this will remove books)
- Publication Date add a date range e.g. if you only want results from the last 5 years
More help:
Watch the How to search the Library collection video (1 min 49 sec)
Oxford Bibliographies: Psychology
Oxford Bibliographies: Psychology by Oxford Bibliographies provides general overviews and compiles authoritative resources for important topics in Psychology. Oxford Bibliographies can serve as a useful introductory gateway for better understanding various Psychology topics and for finding high-quality literature.
PsycINFO getting started
PsycINFO is the key database for finding international peer reviewed literature in behavioural science and mental health. If you are studying psychology, it is important to become familiar with searching PsycINFO. Go through the tutorial below to help you get started:
DSM-5 Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders - DSM-5 by This new edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5®), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health.
Study help
The Student Engagement Unit has created a suite of resources called Study Help that can help you understand different assignment types.
Take a look at:
- Writing and Academic LanguageResources to help you structure, format and write your assignment.
- Writing essaysThis page contains an essay overview and examples from different subject areas
PASS sessions are free and informal study sessions run by students who excelled in the course. Designed to help you better understand the course. Click on the link to view the timetable.