Psychology: WELF 1013: Professional Development: Counselling & Psychology

Assignment Help

1. Getting Started

This Assignment Help will help you in finding information for assignments 1 & 2.

  • For Assessment 1, you are required to write a reflective journal, relating concepts and theories learnt about in class to personal/professional experiences.
  • For Assessment 2, you are required to work in a small group to produce a 12 minute presentation on the topic of resilience.

Please refer to your Course Outline and Course LearnOnline Site for full assessment information.

2. Plan your search

It can be tempting to just copy and paste your whole assignment question in to the search bar, but this usually doesn't give you very good results.  To get the best search results, you should plan a search strategy following the 3 simple steps below.

Example question:

"Discuss the importance of confidentiality when counselling adolescents."

1. Break your question down:

Identify the task word(s) in your question. "Discuss"
Next identify the content words in your question. You can find these by taking the task word and adding the question “What?”

Discuss what?

  • Confidentiality
  • Counselling
  • Adolescents

2. Identify your key concepts 

Think of synonyms or similar concepts that can be used.  This is important as not everyone will use the same terminology or spelling.

Concept 1:

Confidentiality

Concept 2:

Counselling

Concept 3:

Adolescents

Synonyms or similar concepts:

  • privacy
  • confidence

Synonyms or similar concepts

  • counseling
  • psychotherapy
  • therapy

Synonyms or similar concepts

  • teenagers
  • teens
  • youth

3. Build your search strategy

Connect your concepts using AND or OR 

  • AND Connects different concepts
  • OR Connects similar concepts or synonyms

So our search strategy might look something like this: 

confidentiality AND counselling  AND (adolescents OR teenagers)

undefined Want to know more?

3. Find information

?

The Library Collection is a great place to start finding information. 

Use your search strategy in the search bar:

confidentiality AND counselling  AND (adolescents OR teenagers)

Too many search results? Use the Refine my Results menu (on the left hand side) to narrow down your search.

 Want to know more?

Try Google Scholar to find scholarly information. Make sure to access Google Scholar through the link above or from the  Library homepage to get access to the full text of any resources that we have in the UniSA library collection.

The Advanced Scholar Search option gives more flexibility when you search. To access it select the menu (three lines) in the top left hand corner of Google Scholar. This menu will appear once you do an initial search in Google Scholar.

 Want to know more?

Databases are searching tools for finding articles, papers, reports and more.  Some databases are subject-specific, whilst others may cover multiple subject areas.  You can find databases by browsing the database list by subject, or by clicking on the 'Find Information' tab in this guide.

undefined  Some Key Databases

4. Writing your Assignment

For your Reflective Journal, you are required to use the DIEP Model.  look at the infographic above and read your lecture notes from week 1 to find out more about how to use this model.

Want to know more?

For Assignment 2 you are required to work in a group to give an oral presentation. Have a look at the following info sheet from UniSA's Learning Advisors to get you started:

If you want to meet with your group in person, you can book a study room at one of the campus libraries OR download Zoom to create online meeting rooms.

 Want to know more?

5. Using the APA Style

The Academic Writer Tutorial: Basics of Seventh Edition APA Style provides an introduction to the seventh edition APA style and is designed for writers new to the style.

APA style tutorial

Learn about referencing using the seventh edition APA style in this interactive tutorial from JCU Library. Create a reference for a book, a journal article and and a webpage. Tutorial on referencing using APA 7