Skip to Main Content

Counselling and interpersonal skills 

Library resources

When looking for resources in the library collection, start with some basic keyword searches.

Search examples:

For more detailed information on developing search strategies and finding resources, look at the Plan your search and Find information pages in this guide.

TIP - Counselling is sometimes spelt counseling. Some search tools will automatically find both spellings, however use truncation (e.g. counsel*) if not.

Find journal articles on counselling by searching the Library Collection or a relevant Library database.

There are many counselling related videos in the Library collection.  When searching the library collection, use the Refine my Results menu to refine the Resource Type to Video.

Some of these videos are listed below:

Collection spotlight - Alexander Street Press

Navigate to the Counseling and Therapy in Video database

Alexander Street Press - Counseling & Therapy in Video

Overview:

  • This video database contains more than 2,500 hours of footage from actual therapy sessions, training videos and reenactments conducted by renowned counseling professionals. 
  • Provides a firsthand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice.

Features:

  • Search and browse by presenting condition, therapist, therapeutic approach and more
  • Clip-making tools, personalised playlists, and annotations; share via embed codes and links
  • Synchronised, searchable, scrolling transcripts run alongside each video

Navigate to Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts Series

Alexander Street Press - Counseling & Psychotherapy Transcripts

Overview

  • Landmark database containing more than 2,000 transcripts of real therapy and counseling sessions and over 44,000 pages of first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and its treatment.  
  • Content includes diaries, letters, autobiographies, oral histories, and personal memoirs along with the full text of therapy and counseling sessions themselves. All accounts are non-fiction, delivered in the first person and, where possible, contemporaneous. 
  • Narratives are supported by 25,000 pages of major reference works to give context to these primary sources.  

Features

  • Browse and search by resource type, subject, symptoms and therapies.
  • Limit searches by age of client and therapist.
  • Print, download and create permalinks of resources.