How to create a storybook
International picture book awards
Illustrators
Search the Internet for information about your favourite illustrator. See if they have a website! Here are a few to get you started:
Picture books in the Library Collection
- A multimodal approach to challenging gender stereotypes in children's picture books
Publication Date: 2022 - Thinking through stories : children, philosophy, and picture books
Publication Date: 2022 - Talking Beyond the Page: Reading and Responding to Picturebooks
Publication Date: 2020
Useful resources
Remember to always critically evaluate the information your find!
To help you do this watch this short video Study Help: Evaluating Information
Find
Find picture books by searching the Library Collection or browsing the shelves at 823 in the Pedagogies in Practice Collection (Magill and Mawson Lakes Library).
Search tips
- If you know the exact title type it into the search box and select the title option e.g. A bus called heaven
- Find an author / illustrator by typing their name into the search box and selecing the author option
e.g. Shaun Tan - Try the following subject searches to find picture books in the collection: juvenile fiction or picture books
Children's Book Council of Australia (CBCA) 2023 Book of the Year Award Winners
The Library holds the winners and many of the runners up of Book of the Year: Picture Books (Children's Book Council of Australia -CBCA).
Find more previous winners on the CBCA website and in the Library's collection.
Neverlanders by Call Number: Mawson Lakes Pedagogies in Practice: Pink 741.5994 TAYTISBN: 9781761049071Publication Date: 2022Book of the Year: Older Readers (13-18 years)
Runt by Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 9781761185274Publication Date: 2022Book of the Year: Younger Readers (7-12 years)
Where the lyrebird lives by Call Number: Magill Pedagogies in Practice A 823 CONVISBN: 97806453235662014 winner
My strange shrinking parents by Call Number: Magill Pedagogies in Practice A 823 SWOZISBN: 9781760761233Picture Book of the year
Digital Story Book Collections
- Free Kids BooksFree books available in pdf to download plus epub and online version.
- ABC Books for Children by ChildrenBooks that are read out loud. Includes a wide variety of indigenous books.
- Storyline OnlineRead aloud by members of the Screen Actors Guild.
- StorynoryAudio recordings of story books, The text is also available to follow along. Downloadable mp3 file.
- International Children’s Digital LibraryDigital scanned copies of story books to read online. Available in multiple languages.
- Read.gov - Classic BooksLibrary of Congress free online books to read. Includes stories like Huckleberry Finn and the Jungle Book.
- StoryPlace!Interactive online children’s library with extra activities.
- Magic Blox Children's Book LibraryFree online scans of modern books to read online. Need to register.
- Free Children StoriesAudio recordings of books read aloud, Also includes the transcript of the book which can be printed.
- Children's Books Online: The Rosetta ProjectContains jpeg image scans of antique and classic books to be read online.
- Story JumperImages of real books that you can turn the pages of in real time. Some have audio readings, some do not.
- Magic Keys: Children's Storybooks OnlineStory books online. Text is web-based rather than being in book form.
- Oxford OwlOxford University Press online story books. There are two sections one for parents and one for teachers. Need to register to access.