Building estimating support

Before you start searching it is important you:

1. Understanding your assessment task
2. Identify the main ideas (key concepts) you need to explore or research on further.
3. What types of information you need and how much you need.

For example, if you had to Explain the role of a building estimator? You would explore further (search on):

• role (concept 1)
• building estimator (concept 2)

You do not need to search explain which tells you what you have to do.

Next, spend some time getting to know what other relevant terminology (e.g. synonyms or related keywords) you could search on for each main idea identified. Watch this video to learn how more about this:

Searching the Library Collection

The Library collection search can be a good place to start searching for both scholarly and literature. This search example shows you how to build a basic search strategy:
 

1. Type each different concept into the search box. Connect these with AND.
   
   Tip: use " " quotes to keep concepts together as an exact phrase.
    
2. To broaden your search add synonyms or alternative keywords using the connector OR.
   
   Tip: To do this in a single search box use brackets (...) to group 'like' keywords together.​
    
3. Select search. Apply limits using Refine my results (right).

Databases are search tools that allow you to find a range of literature including scholarly journal articles. They can be subject specific or multidisciplinary like ProQuest Central.

It is a good idea to become familiar with a few key databases to use throughout your studies.

Library databases are search tools that allow you to find both scholarly and industry literature. They are often subject specific like Business Source Ultimate, but can be multidisciplinary like ProQuest Central. They offer more sophisticated search interfaces which can be useful.

It is a good idea to become familiar with a few key databases to use throughout your studies.

ProQuest Central search example

1. Open ProQuest Central and select the Advanced search option.
2. Type your first concept into the search box. Use the connector OR to add any synonyms or related keywords to broaden your search.
3. Change the field to search Anywhere except full text - NOFT
   
   
    
4. Select + Add Search Field to add your next search concept.
5. Repeat again for any further concepts you want to search on.
   
   
    
6. Select search. Use the Refine your search menu (left) to limit your search further.

Key industry starters

Finding standards

Australian standards can be found in the database:

To download standards you need to: 

1. sign up for an individual Techstrett account and be logged into it
2. Use the Adobe Acrobat Reader app with the FileOpen plugin

Most standards can be read online using the View Online button.
Step by step help here:

Tender submission help

Writing a cover letter

NOTE: These resources are guides only, you should determine what to include and exclude based on the assessment instructions.

Record building estimates using Excel.

If you need help using Excel search the following databases for relevant courses:

UniSA students are eligible to download Excel as part of Office365 standard software for free. You can do this here: