Skip to Main Content

Find information

Where to search

Knowing where to search is just as important as knowing how! The following video explains why and when to use different search tools.

Video length: 2 min 14 sec

Key points from the video
  • Knowing where and how to search are both important.
  • Not all search tools will give you access to the same information.
  • Understanding why and when to use different search tools will save you time.
  • The Library Collection is a good place to search for scholarly material. It provides free access to a variety of resources types across a range of subject areas.
  • Databases help focus your search and have more advanced searching options.
  • Google Scholar provides access to a wide range of resources, but not all of it is scholarly. Use the Google Scholar link from the Library website for best access to full-text references.
  • Some types of specific information are best found using a search engine or specific website.
  • All resources need to be evaluated before including them.

The Library Collection

The Library Collection is a good place to start. You can use it to find eBooks, journal articles, reports, videos, and more.

Tips for searching

From the results page, use the "Refine my results" menu option to filter, e.g., to peer-reviewed journal articles, recent publications, etc.

Test your knowledge with the following interactive tutorial.

Library Collection search tutorial

Searching Google Scholar

Google Scholar heading

Google Scholar searches academic and scholarly websites.

Searching Google Scholar via the Library website activates a "Full-text at UniSA" link - this gives you direct access to Library-subscribed content.

Screenshot of Library website, highlighting the Google Scholar tab above the search bar.

Want to know more?

Test your knowledge with the following interactive tutorial:

Google Scholar search tutorial

For advanced Google Scholar tips visit the Web searching page in the Library's Grey Literature and Other Sources guide.

Key databases

Databases are online collections of resources including articles, books, conference papers and reports. They often feature advanced search options to help you focus your search.

Gavel icon Criminology and criminal justice databases

Link to more criminology and criminal justice databases... 

Check out the following quick guide to learn how to use special database symbols, like truncation:

Searching in databases

The Library Collection does not list everything we have access to. Try a database when you are not finding relevant results in the Library Collection, or in order to restrict your results to a specific discipline, topic area, or material type.

Search examples

Examples of how to search some of the key criminology databases are in the following drop-downs:

CINCH database (via Informit)

Australian criminology database (CINCH) is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts content on all aspects of crime and criminal justice from 1968 onwards. Source documents include journal articles, books and chapters, conference papers and proceedings, research reports, theses, government documents, statistical publications and unpublished materials.

Here is an example of a search within the Australian criminology database via the Informit platform.

Advanced search example

  • Put a different concept on each line.
  • Use OR to connect any similar terms (synonyms).

Example of advanced search in Australian Criminology Database. Search is: (police OR "law enforcement") AND ("criminal justice system" OR "criminal legal system").

Look for the Find it button to try and locate the full text articles.

 

APA PsycInfo (via Ovid)

PsycInfo uses the Ovid search interface. You can take advantage of the Advanced search feature in the database to build up combinations of terms by following these steps.

Advanced search example

Step 1: Search all the keywords and synonyms for your first concept, including OR between each.

  • Untick Map Term to Subject Heading.
  • You will see your first concept displayed in Search History.

Search example in PsycInfo database. Search string is: segregation or isolation or "solitary confinement" or "separate confinement" or non-association.

 Step 2: Repeat this step for the other concepts.

Search bar in PsycInfo database, search string: prison* OR incarceration OR gaol* OR jail*

Step 3: In Search History, tick all your concepts and combine them with AND.
Combination of searches in the Search History in PsycInfo database.

For more support:

Criminal Justice Database (via ProQuest)

The Criminal Justice Database is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. The database includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields.

Advanced search example

  • Put a different concept on each line.
  • Use OR to connect any similar terms (synonyms).

Advanced search Criminal Justice Database. Search string: (police OR "law enforcement") AND ("criminal justice system" OR "criminal legal system").

  • To narrow the results, change the search field from Anywhere to Anywhere except full text - NOFT.
  • You can also get a smaller number of results that are more relevant if you add an additional concept (select + Add a row). 
  • You can refine your results by selecting the relevant menu options to limit your search further, e.g., by date or source type.

For more support:

Where to find different format types

Find case studies

Try the following list of databases or the Library Collection to find case studies. Type "case study" into the search bar or refine your search options to only include case studies.

Find legal resources

Looking for legislation, case law, or other legal resources? The Law Research guide will help you to find legal information to use in your studies and link you to law databases and other resources. 

For a quick summary of relevant resources, check out:

Find news media

The Library's News Media guide contains tips for searching and evaluating a range of Australian and international news media, and links to several news databases.

Find reports

You may want to explore organisations relevant to your research area to find unpublished material, e.g., reports. These can often be found freely available online, through websites like the following: 

Other relevant resources are listed in the Organisations tab. The Grey Literature & Other Sources Guide contains additional suggestions for finding reports and other grey literature. 

Find videos

When searching the Library Collection, use the Refine my results menu to refine the resource type to audio visual. The Library also subscribes to dedicated video databases, including:

Find conference papers

Conference papers or 'proceedings' can be a great source of up-to-date information, trends, and innovations. Researchers often present their findings at conferences before publishing a formal journal article.

To search for conference papers:

  • Include the words conference and/or proceedings in your search.
  • Refine results by type or format to conference proceedings.
  • Search the Conference proceedings citation index database.
  • Search the websites of specific conferences or organisations.

Is it scholarly or peer reviewed?

You may be required to use scholarly or peer-reviewed material to support your arguments. Not all types of information follow a peer review process, but some journals and conferences do.

Visit the Evaluate tab for more advice, or check out: