Skip to Main Content

Research methods and methodologies

Explore methods and methodology

Research methods are the techniques, processes, system or procedure followed where data or information is created and then analysed.

SAGE Research Methods is a comprehensive online collection of resources that can help you to:

  • understand a particular research method that you're studying or identify a new method
  • explore methodological concepts that can assist you in designing your research project
  • write up your research

Tips for using the database

Watch the following video (2 min 7 sec) for an overview of the database.

Research methods map

The SAGE Research Methods Map can be used to explore the research methods terrain, learn definitions of key terminology, and discover content relevant to your research methods journey.

Screenshot of the SAGE interactive research methods map. The central concept 'Research methods' is shown with narrower terms extending off from it.

Other resources

You can explore research methods and methodology by searching in the Library Collection. 

Example search:

Understand the research cycle

When undertaking a research project, you will need to consult the literature throughout the research cycle so searching in the literature is an essential skill. The Searching For Your Literature Review Guide can help you to understand this process more comprehensively.

Explore the research cycle diagram below for more information on the research cycle and process. Click the plus (+) icons to learn more.

Diagram adapted with permission. Created by Deb Moulton, Learning Advisor, Teaching Innovation Unit, UniSA.

Literature reviews

Literature reviews involve selecting, classifying, and evaluating what other researchers have written on a particular subject, and can include evaluation of research methods and methodologies employed.

The following links include tips for completing a literature review:

Other review types

The Library's Systematic Reviews guide provides an overview of scoping, narrative, and systematic review types.

Where to search

Some of the key databases for social science research include:

Key multidisciplinary databases:

Top tips
  • Record your search strategy so that you (and others) can replicate the process - this is essential for systematic reviews, but is generally advised to ensure transparency and replicability. Document search tools used, date searches conducted, search terms, any limits (e.g. year, language), and number of hits.
  • Sign up for accounts with key database providers (e.g. Ovid and ProQuest) so that you can save articles, search strategies, alerts and more for later use.
  • Set up alerts so that you keep up to date with material as it is published on your topic.
  • To conduct a comprehensive search, go beyond the major indexed databases to locate grey literature.
  • Manage and organise your search results using bibliographic management software such as EndNote.
  • Systematic review methodology was developed for medicine and healthcare, and aspects of the approach prescribed in the discipline may be inappropriate for certain research questions. Alternatives such as that developed by the UK Social Care Institute for Excellence may be more appropriate.

An answerable question

Successfully retrieving relevant information begins with a clearly defined, well-structured question.

Davies, K.S. (2011). 'Formulating the evidence based practice question: a review of the frameworks', Evidence Based Library and Information Practice, vol. 6, no. 2, p. 75.

Watch the following video (7 min 24 sec) to learn about the process of developing a research question.

Developing a research question by Academic Skills, University of Melbourne (2018)

A range of standardised frameworks have been developed to assist in developing focused, answerable questions which can be easily broken down into searchable components for more relevant results.

Examples of framing the question are available in the Systematic Reviews Guide.

Australian research organisations

Several professional organisations and associations conduct research and collect data related to crime. Below are some examples of Australian research organisations:

Check out the Organisations tab for more suggestions. 

International research organisations

Grey literature

Grey literature refers to an extensive array of information, that may be defined by: limited distribution, variability in quality, file format, or availability, and publication outside 'traditional' publishing models. Grey literature can still be key when looking for evidence sources, as it can:

  • introduce alternative perspectives
  • minimise or offset publication/reporting biases
  • fill in research gaps
  • provide local or unique information, including where there is little published evidence

For more information: 

Theses

Looking for existing theses will help you to:

  • Ensure that your topic has not been, or is not being, investigated by another researcher
  • Gain knowledge of other related research in your area of study
  • Discover the research that has preceded your topic
  • Explore methodologies and layouts used by other researchers in your field