Japanese
Searching the Library collection
Japanese resources may be listed under the English or Japanese title, or both. Because of this we recommend searching for both versions of the title. Please note that the majority of resources in the Library will be catalogued using the alphabet, rather than Japanese characters.
Search tips:
- Search for an exact title using "quotation marks"
- Add the word OR in between the title variations to bring back results which are listed under the English version or the Japanese version
- Filter using the options under 'Refine my results' on the left hand side of your search results
Alternatively browse resources in our collection using the below links:
Phrasebooks, dictionaries and grammar resources
Help with grammar, vocabulary and more
- Japanese StudiesJournals and books available in the library on Japanese studies
- Tuttle mini Japanese dictionaryEnglish to Japanese and Japanese to English dictionary with notes on language, grammar and pronunciation
- Essential Japanese phrasebook & dictionaryPractical phrases and expressions for everyday interactions, as well as an English to Japanese dictionary
- Japanese: A linguistic introductionExplores Japanese lexicon, grammatical foundations, major clause types, clause linkage and language usage
- Learning Japanese Kanji practice book: Volume 1For beginning students or experienced speakers who need to practice their written Japanese
- The Journal of Japanese StudiesMultidisciplinary forum for communicating new information, interpretations, and research on Japan
- Modern Japanese grammar workbookExercises based upon essential grammatical structures, and everyday functions
- Japanese for beginners: Learning conversational JapaneseProvides a firm grounding in grammar and sentence structure using dialogues and vocabulary that reflect authentic Japanese situations
- Japanese Language Proficiency TestVocabulary, grammar, and language for those taking the Test or simply wanting to learn the language
- NihongoA range of resources for reading, writing, listening, speaking, grammar, and vocabulary
Films and videos
Watch Japanese movies, documentaries, TV shows and more
- Japanese cinema on KanopyA collection of Japanese cinema
- Japan collection on KanopyA collection of videos about Japan, including documentaries, lectures, films and more
- EduTVContains documentaries, movies and educational programs in Japanese
News media
- Japanese NewsFrom SBS on Demand. News via satellite from NHK Tokyo in Japanese, no subtitles
- NewsBank Inc.Includes national and international titles.
- Japan TimesAvailable online, Japanese news written in English
- NHK onlineProvides articles on Japan and the world, as well as radio shows and TV programs in Japanese
Audiobooks and podcasts
- SBS JapaneseNews and stories from SBS Japanese
- Slow JapaneseFrom SBS Japanese, aimed at intermediate learners
- Learn Japanese PodDesigned for beginners, with conversations in both Japanese and English
- TofuguBeginner to intermediate level podcast with episodes on language, travel, and a range of general interest topics
- Loyal booksJapanese literature audiobooks, some with English translations
- LibriVox audiobooksFilter by language to find Japanese audiobooks
Language learning apps
Apps to help you learn on the go
Conversational Apps: learn through conversations
Organisations
Organisations to connect with
- Japan Australia Friendship AssociationAssociation for building cultural and social friendships
- Australia Japan Association of South AustraliaPromotes friendship and understanding through social events
- Japanese Studies Association of AustraliaA professional association for those in Australia who teach, research or study Japan
- Australia-Japan FoundationAustralia's oldest cultural council supporting people-to-people links underpinning this key bilateral and regional relationship
- National Federation of Australia-Japan SocietiesThe national body representing all the Australia Japan Societies around Australia