Guides: Human Resource Management: Organisations

Useful starters

HR-Guide.com
Provides information on a variety of human resource topics, including performance appraisal, psychology and occupational health and safety
HRM Guide
Based on Alan Price's book: Human Resource Management in a Business Context. Also features articles and news on human resource surveys, research, books and careers
Human Resource Management (Nottingham Business School)
List of human resources links arranged by topic, produced by Nottingham Trent University, in the UK
International Labour Organisation (ILO)
Includes case studies for good practice in labour administration, a list of projects and full-text of most publications listed
WWW Virtual Library: Labour History
Portal to hundreds of annotated links to organisations, institutions, resources, journals and conferences

Academic and research organisations

Academy of Human Resource Development
International association encouraging research into human resource development theories and practices. The site includes information about the academy, publications and links
AIRAANZ
Association of Industrial Relations Academics of Australia and New Zealand. Includes publications and conference information
International Reform Monitor: Social Policy, Labour Market Policy, Industrial Relations
Produced by Bertelsmann Foundation in partnership with institutions and research centres worldwide. The industrial relations section provides information on reforms and research covering 15 industrialized countries
National Institute of Economic and Social Research
Britain's longest established independent economic research institute. Includes research, events, publications, projects, and membership

Industry associations and organisations

AFL-CIO: America's Union Movement
The federation of America's labour unions, representing more than 13 million workers. Their site includes information on union activities
Australian Chamber Alliance
A gateway to Australia's leading industry associations
Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry
ACCI represents the interests of business nationally and internationally. The site includes information about the Chamber, news, issues papers, surveys and publications
Australian Council of Trade Unions (ACTU)
The ACTU leads a coalition of Australian unions. Their site features information about their current campaigns, work rights, news, publication archives, and union links
British Chambers of Commerce: Chamber Online (BCC)
BCC is Britain's national body representing their network of Accredited Chambers. Includes publications, skills development, policy and international trade
Business SA
Includes a variety of resources, and outlines available business services and training from South Australia's leading business organisation
Labourstart
A source of daily news and information on trade union and labour movement activities worldwide
US Chamber of Commerce
Represents free enterprise in Congress and the White House. Their site includes membership details, news, issues papers and information for small businesses

Government organisations

Fair Work Commission
Provides access to current awards, full bench decisions and the The Fair Work Act 2009 and regulations
Commonwealth Department of Employment and Workplace Relations
Focuses on equipping Australians with relevant skills to gain or regain employment amidst rapid social and economic changes. Efforts include addressing skill gaps, supporting vocational education, and ensuring local, safe employment with fair pay and workplace rights.
Workplace Gender Equality Agency
The Workplace Gender Equality Agency is an Australian Government statutory agency created by the Workplace Gender Equality Act 2012. The Agency is charged with promoting and improving gender equality in Australian workplaces.
Fair Work Ombudsman
An Australian government resource on wages and conditions of employment, covered by federal awards and agreements
Safework SA
South Australia's workplace occupational health, safety and welfare agency. Features information on a number of topics including legislation, industrial relations and industries
UK Department for Business & Trade
The Department for Business & Trade (DBT) is the UK government's department for economic growth. The DBT supports businesses to invest, grow and export, creating jobs and opportunities across the UK.
US Department of Labor
Features information on all aspects of employment in the United States, including equal opportunity, training, health and safety, wages, leave benefits, and compensation

Human resource associations and organisations

Australian Human Resources Institute
National association representing human resource professionals. Includes membership information, events, services, education and publications
Chartered Professionals in Human Resources
Collaborative council of Canadian human resources associations. Features information about the profession, certification, events, news and the Canadian code of ethics
Chartered Institute of Personnel and Development
UK professional body for human resource managers. Includes resources on human resource topics, news, events and training opportunities
Hong Kong Institute of Human Resource Management
Hong Kong's largest professional representation of human resource management professionals. Includes information about the organisation, news, press releases and an online resource library
Human Resources Institute of New Zealand
Professional organisation for those interested or associated with human resource management. Features information on human resources, membership and industry events
International Association for Human Resource Information Management (IHRIM)
International association of practitioners, consultants and students committed to sharing industry news and networking. Features membership information, human resource management trends and technology
Malaysian Employers' Federation (MEF)
Central organisation of private sector employers in Malaysia. Features information on employment law, industrial relations, etc.
National Human Resource Association (NHRA)
US network of local affiliates focused on advancing the development of human resource professionals. Includes association events, online resources and a career centre
Singapore Human Resources Institute (SHRI)
Society for Human Resource Management