Data and statistics
Tips for finding data
In the health databases:
- Add incidence or prevalence to your search
- Or add data or statistic* to your search
- Use Medline's publication filter: Datasets
Journal of Open Health Data
The journal Open Health Data features peer-reviewed papers describing health datasets with high reuse potential. The journal works with data repositories to ensure that the associated datasets are archived, preserved, and openly available.
Health data texts
Search the Library Collection to find books about health data. Here are some in the collection:
Advanced Data Analytics in HealthPublication Date: 2018
Big Data and Health AnalyticsPublication Date: 2014
Health Data Governance by Publication Date: 2015
Practitioner's Guide to Health InformaticsPublication Date: 2015
Australian health data
- Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander (ATSIDA)A specialised trusted RDM facility for Australian Aboriginal research data managed by UTS Library.
- Australian Data Archive (ADA)A national service for the collection and preservation of digital research data and to make these data available for secondary analysis.
- Research Data AustraliaFind, access, and reuse data for research from over 100 Australian research organisations, government agencies, and cultural institutions.
- Rural Health Workforce AustraliaProvides a range of publications, including annual reports and data on rural health in Australia.
Australian health data: Government
- Australian Bureau of StatisticsThe Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) is Australia's national statistical agency.
- Australian Government Department of Health and Aged CareFederal Government Department site providing extensive health information and resources for the general public and health sector. Reports, government responses, procedures, strategies and more.
- Data - Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW)Find reports, statistics and other publications related to health, ageing and aged care, dementia, disability and more.
- Data.gov.auFind, access and reuse public datasets from the Australian Government. It encourages public access to and reuse of government data by providing it in useful formats.
- Data SA - South Australian Government Data DirectoryAccess datasets available from South Australian Government Departments, other public sector bodies and participating local government authorities.
- SA HealthSA Government department providing reliable health information and updates.
International health data
- Centre for Disease Protection and Control - StatisticsThe US National Center for Health Statistics provides statistical information aimed to guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people. It is America's principal health statistics agency.
- Demographic and Health Surveys Program"The Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) Program has collected, analyzed, and disseminated accurate and representative data on population, health, HIV, and nutrition through more than 300 surveys in over 90 countries" — Homepage.
- European Health Information GatewayEasy access to health data in the WHO European Region. Includes information overviews by country, region and topic.
- Global Health Observatory data repositoryProduced by the World Health Organisation. The Global Health Observatory provides data on a range of health related topics.
- Public Health Scotland (formerly Information Services Division or ISD)"ISD provides health information, health intelligence, statistical services and advice that support the National Health Science in progressing quality improvement in health and care and facilitates robust planning and decision making" — Homepage.
- International Data BaseThe International Data Base (IDB) offers a searchable demographic indicators for countries and areas of the world with a population of 5,000 or more. Produced in the US.
- Statistics Canada: HealthIncludes factsheets, reports and data, supplied through Canada's unified government portal.
- UK National Health Service StatisticsNHS England publishes statistics on a range of health and care subjects.
- Health Survey for EnglandHealth Survey for England is an annual survey which monitors the country's health. Access past surveys online.
- UNICEF Statistics"UNICEF collects data ...from low and middle-income countries.... on more than 100 indicators used to assess the situation of children and women in the areas of education, health, gender equality, rights and protection" — About Us.
- The World Bank: DataBankDataBank is an analysis and visualisation tool which contains collections of time series data on the variety of topics researched at the World Bank Group. Users can create queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them.
- United Nations Statistics Division: Demographics and Social StatisticsFind a range of statistics on different topics areas including health.
- GeneLab"GeneLab aims to maximize the utilization of the valuable biological research resources aboard the International Space Station (ISS) by collecting genomic, transcriptomic, proteomic, and metabolomics data…relevant to spaceflight research or to the study of gravity as a continuum" — GeneLab FAQ.