MEDI 1009: Professional issues in Laboratory Medicine 

This assignment help has been created to help you find resources for part 1 and part 2 of your assignment. 

Part 1: You will need to search the Library Collection for reference texts and textbooks to find definitions and information about your topic.

Part 2: You will need to search for journal articles to build on the information you have found for your topic in part 1.

Books are a great starting point for finding out background information. You can use books for:

• Defining terms
• background knowledge
• overviews on topics  
• more detailed information than websites

You can search our large collection of books including reference books and textbooks using the the Library Collection. You can either search for books by title or by subject.

The first part of your assignment requires you to find relevant definitions of your topics using Reference Texts.  Your lecturer has provided a list of suggested reference texts in the Assignment Outline. 

Search the Library collection for books:

1) By title

If the title is known, type into the search bar in quotation marks

Example: Mosby's Medical Dictionary

If an ebook is available click on the Available online link

2) By keyword

You can then use the Refine my results menu to:

• Select Full Text Online
• Books
• Set a publication date range

For more information on books:

For part 2 of your assignment you will need to develop a search strategy to search for journal articles

First identify the main ideas (key concepts) of your topic. 

Then consider alternative words for your key concepts which you can include in your search.

Example Question: The pathogenesis of coeliac disease 

Please note: This table is not comprehensive, you will find more concepts as you begin to search. 

Next combine your terms: 

• combine all the search terms for using the same concept using OR
• combine difference concepts using AND
• use "quotation marks" to keep phrases together
• use * to find variations of different word endings, for example pathogen* will find pathogenesis and pathogeny

Example search

"celiac disease" OR "coeliac disease" OR "gluten enteropathy"

AND

pathogenesis OR pathogeny OR "pathological process"

Further help:

Scholarly journal articles contain highly focused and current research information. They provide:

• up-to-date information
• discuss current research and trends
• provide in depth information and research on topics
• Peer-reviewed journal articles are articles that have gone through a checking process before being published

You can search for journal articles in databases, Google Scholar and the Library collection.

For more information on journal articles:

You can search in databases using your search strategy you have developed. 

Scopus is a large multi disciplinary database and a good place to search for articles. 

Other databases:

On the Find evidence page of the Laboratory Medicine Subject Guide there is a list of other recommended databases including instructions for how to search MEDLINE.

You can also search in Google Scholar for articles.

1) Access Google Scholar thorough the Library website

2) Use the basic search box like the Library collection

4) Look for the PDF links or Fulltext at UniSA links to access the resource 

Please note: The use of the * will not work in Google Scholar 

You should critically evaluate all resources found to determine their appropriateness for your assignment. The video below explains more.

You must appropriately cite (‘acknowledge’) all references used in your assignment to avoid plagiarism.