MBA research
Welcome
Welcome to the UniSA Library. This page has been created to help you locate key online library resources to support you throughout your MBA. Before exploring this guide please watch the video below to learn how you can get the most out of the UniSA Library:
Video length: 2 min 55 sec
Subject and research guides
- Business GuideThis Library guide is developed to help you search the Library collection, the web, and our databases to find information for your Business courses and assignments.
Use our guides to find recommended subject specific resources. Guides include Accounting, Business, Economics, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Human Resource Management, Management, Marketing and many more.
Plan your search
Start by identifying keywords for your topic. Next, think of alternative words for your keywords that you can also include in your searching.
The table below shows an example of keywords and alternative words that could be used in a search around performance management:
| Keywords | Alternative words or phrases |
| performance management | performance review, performance appraisal |
| assessment | feedback, evaluation, criticism |
| outcomes | results, positive outcomes, negative outcomes |
- Business Source UltimateProvides information covering all areas of business including accounting and finance; banking; finance and insurance; construction; computer science; economics and more. Includes country economic reports as well as detailed company profiles.
Below is an example of a search we could try using words from our table in the database.
"performance management" OR "performance review" AND feedback
Tip: The use of quotation marks keeps phrases together in your search results.
More help
Find information
Search the Library collection to find eBooks, journal articles, reports, videos and more. Use the Refine my results option to limit your search results.
Watch this short video (1 min 45 sec) about using the Library collection.
Google Scholar searches only within academic or scholarly sites, rather than the whole internet. By accessing Google Scholar from within the library website you will be able to link directly to articles that the library has access to by clicking on the Full-text at UniSA link.
Key databases
- Business Source UltimateContent covers all areas of business including management, marketing, finance, economics and international business.
- ABI/INFORM CollectionContains articles covering all aspects of of business, economics and law.
- Emerald InsightManagement and business information.
- Informit Business CollectionAustralian business content.
- ProQuest CentralScholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books and reports covering over 160 subject areas.
Find more information
Company and industry information
- Company and Industry Information GuideThis guide will help you search the web and our databases to find company and industry information, financial information, annual reports and country information.
Harvard Business Review
The Harvard Business Review provides insights on strategy, innovation, management and leadership and is a key business tool.
We recommended accessing the Harvard Business Review (HBR) journal through the Business Source Ultimate database.
- Harvard Business ReviewHBR provides insights on strategy, innovation, management and leadership and is a key business tool.Â
To search for articles on specific topics within the journal, click the Search within this publication link.
On the search page, enter the title or keywords starting from the second row.
Note: leave the first row as it is.
Case studies
Explore thousands of real life business cases from all over the world:
- Sage Business CasesA discipline-wide collection of global business cases from a variety of industries. Includes teaching notes.
- HSTalksProvides access to world class lectures and case studies by leading experts from commerce, industry, the professions and academia. This collection of specially prepared animated audio visual presentations with synchronized narration is regularly updated and growing with over 900 talks.
News media
- NewsBankThis news database consolidates current and archived information from thousands of newspaper titles and other publications. It helps to pinpoint information from primary sources at the local, state, regional, national and international levels.
- News Media GuideThis guide provides help searching and evaluating a wide range of Australian and International news media including newspapers, television, radio and media releases.
Evaluating resources
It is important to always evaluate the resources that you find. To help you evaluate your information please watch the below videos:
- Study Help: Evaluating Information - Video (3 min 17 sec)Learn how to evaluate websites and other resources to decide if they are appropriate for your needs.
- Study Help: Scholarly Sources Explained - Video (2 min 22 sec)Find out about scholarly, academic, or peer-reviewed (refereed) resources.
Referencing support
- Referencing websiteResources on different referencing styles. Find examples of in-text citations and references for diverse formats including articles, books and book chapters, websites and more.
Note: Always check your Course Outline or LearnOnline site for the referencing style required for your course.
Managing your references
What do you do with all those references you have found? You can use a bibliographic management software to store, organise, and cite your references.
There are many free systems available. The Library supports the bibliographic management tool EndNote. EndNote automates citing your references and allows you to create and organise a library of references. For more information and to download the software, check out the EndNote Guide:
Help
- Ask the LibraryLibrary help via chat, phone and email or access our suite of self-help resources
- Workshops and seminarsOur workshops are designed to support postgraduate students throughout their studies.
- Study HelpAn online hub with study tips and tools