Mathematics and General Sciences: MATH 2024 Mathematical Communication SP5 2020

Mathematical Communication: MATH 2024

Mathematical communication banner image

Before you begin:

Assessment: Mathematical Paper - project and presentations

Before getting started it is recommended that you:

  • Select a topic from the handout 'Guidelines and Topics for the Mathematical Paper 2019', located on the learnonline course site. 
  • Read the assessment instructions in your course outline

Library worksheet

Start here

Planning your search is key to getting the most out of your search results. The following video will help you get started.

 Video Length: 2:26

   Key points from the video
  • Searching for your whole assignment is not very effective
  • Identify the key concepts in your question or topic
  • Think about what other words (similar words or alternative terms) might be used to describe the key concepts
  • Connect your concepts using AND and OR
  • You can change your search as you find more information
  • Searching for your whole assignment is not very effective
  • Identify the key concepts in your question or topic
  • Think about what other words (similar words or alternative terms) might be used to describe the key concepts
  • Connect your concepts using AND and OR
  • You can change your search as you find more information
   Read: How to plan your search

The rest of this page will outline the key steps for planning your search as discussed in this video: identify keywords, consider alternative keywords, connect your keywords as well as understand assignment types and copyright.

Step 1

   Identify keywords

Typing your question into Google or the Library Collection is not the best way to search.

Mapping out your search can be a good place to start:

  • Identify the keywords (also known as key concepts) in the assignment question - these are the words which give meaning to the question, the main ideas
  • Remove task words (also known as instruction words) from your assignment question - these are the words telling you what to do with the key concepts (e.g. analyse, compare, discuss)

Step 2

   Consider alternative keywords

Now you've identified the keywords in your assignment question, try doing the following to help you understand your keywords and find similar or alternative keywords:

Use the course readings, an encyclopedia, dictionary or reliable websites to understand your topic

Use a thesaurus to help you find similar or alternative keywords

Do some basic initial searching using the keywords you've already identified to see what other words are used in the papers you find. Create a mindmap or table to help you brainstorm alternative keywords

Step 3

   Connect your keywords

Once you have identified your keywords and found alternative keywords, you need to connect these to put your search together.

Use the following operator words, which most search tools will have, to indicate how you want the tool to search for your keywords:

  • OR: Combines similar keywords
  • AND: Combines different keywords
  • NOT: Excludes words from the search (use cautiously and only when necessary or you might exclude results you actually want)

Remember to use "quotation marks" to keep phrases together and (brackets) to keep synonyms together.

   Test your knowledge

Start your search

The Library Collection is a good place to start your search. You can use it to find journal articles, papers, book chapters, and reports.

 

To search in the Library Collection:

1. Type your main concepts into the search box.

  • Tip: use double quotes to keep concepts together as a phrase.

2. Broaden your search by adding synonyms using the connector OR.

undefined

3. Apply filters by using the 'Refine my results' menu (left side).

  • Tip: You may want to limit your results by adding a date range filter.

Try using Google Scholar to find scholarly sources or material from education and government websites.

 

To use the Advanced Scholar Search:

  1. Access Google Scholar through the Library homepage. (tab next to Library Collection)
  2. Click the Menu button in the top left corner.
  3. Select Advanced Search to access more searching options.
  4. Look for PDF links or 'Fulltext at UniSA' links to access the resource.

 

More help:

Evaluating Information

How to evaluate information using the C.R.A.A.P. test to assess whether it is appropriate for your needs.

You will find a range of material which need to be assessed to see if it is actually useful to include.  The following criteria will help you make decisions about the material that you are trying to assess.

The CRAAP Test was developed by the Meriam Library at California State University to help you evaluate the information you find. This information has been adapted from the Evaluating Information - Applying the CRAAP Test by California State University 

Referencing

Navigate to Referencing Roadmap webpage

Need help referencing? Follow the roadmap!

 

Q: If I have a list of references in EndNote can I import it into a LaTeX reference list?'LaTeX logo', Licensed under Public Domain via Wikimedia Commons

A: Yes, you can import EndNote references into LaTeX reference list. LaTeX is a document preparation system for high-quality typesetting. It is most often used for medium to large technical or scientific documents but it can be used for almost any form of publishing. It is typically used for typesetting of complex mathematical formulas, advanced typesetting of mathematics with AMS-LaTeX, and automatic generation of bibliographies and indexes.

Watch 'Using EndNote Records with LaTeX' or try one of these:

What do you do with all those references you have found?

Use a bibliographic management software to store, organise and cite your references. The Library supports the bibliographic management tool EndNote. There are also many free systems available.

Watch Managing Your References to decide which tool is best for you and then get started. 

More help

 

For more help with this assignment please contact Ask the Library or the Student Engagement Unit.

 

Rate this resource