Mathematics
Key databases
- MathSciNetOver 100,000 new items are added each year, most of them classified according to the Mathematics Subject Classification. Reference lists are collected and matched internally from approximately 450 journals, and citation data for journals, authors, articles and reviews is provided.
- SIAM reference collectionA searchable collection of books published by the Society of Industrial and Applied Mathematics, in the areas of applied mathematics and computational science.
- zbMathProvides a comprehensive coverage of the international mathematical research published on pure and applied mathematics. It contains articles from more than 2,300 journals and serials
How to search MathSciNet
MathSciNet search example
Applying your search correctly to databases and search tools is critical to finding relevant literature. Search interfaces will look different but often have similar search functionality and features.
Example question - Examine the correlation of music and math in education.
The 'show classic interface' feature allows you to enter your search terms in different fields.
You can limit your results by date range, publication type etc. to help narrow your results.
Exporting to BibTex
You can export your results to BibTex by selecting all your results on the page or by individual titles.
- MathSciNetOver 100,000 new items are added each year, most of them classified according to the Mathematics Subject Classification. Reference lists are collected and matched internally from approximately 450 journals, and citation data for journals, authors, articles and reviews is provided.
Mathematics resources
- Khan Academy MathsKhan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom.
- On-line Encyclopedia of Integer SequencesUse this encyclopedia to identify if a number sequence in your research has been seen before.
- Project Tuva: Richard Feynman's Messenger Lecture SeriesThe Project Tuva site hosts the Messenger Lectures series titled The Character of Physical Law given at Cornell University by Richard Feynman in 1964 and recorded by the BBC.
- Wolfram MathWorldMathWorld has been assembled over more than a decade. Since its contents first appeared online in 1995, MathWorld has emerged as a nexus of mathematical information in both the mathematics and educational communities. It not only reaches millions of readers from all continents of the globe, but also serves as a clearinghouse for new mathematical discoveries that are routinely contributed by researchers
- EuDML The European Digital Mathematics LibraryEuDML makes the mathematics literature available online, in the form of an enduring digital collection, developed and maintained by the network of institutions called the EuDML Initiative.
- StackExchangeMathematics Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people studying math at any level and professionals in related fields.
- Martindale's Calculators On-line CenterContains over 17700 calculators on mathematics, statistics, chemistry, physics, astrophysics, engineering, agriculture, horticulture and more.
- The Electronic Library of MathematicsThe longest-running and largest open access repository in mathematics. It contains online journals, article collections, monographs, and other electronic resources in the field of mathematics.
- eMathHelpAn online maths resource containing notes, calculators and games to assist users with maths homework, prepare for a test, or just to refresh their maths memory.
Journals
Mathematics associations
Australian
- The Mathematical Association of South Australia (MASA)Objective is to arouse interest in mathematics, to effect improvements in the teaching of mathematics and its implications.
- Australian Mathematical Society (Aust MS)The Australian Mathematical Society is the national society of the mathematics profession in Australia.
- Australian Mathematical Sciences Institute (AMSI)AMSI is the collaborative enterprise of Australia’s mathematical sciences.
- Australian Research Council Centre of Excellence for Mathematical and Statistical Frontiers (ACEMS)The Australian Research Council (ARC) Centre of Excellence for Mathematical and Statistical Frontiers (ACEMS) brings together for the first time a critical mass of Australia’s best researchers in applied mathematics, statistics, mathematical physics and machine learning.
- The Australian Association of Mathematics Teachers (AAMT)The Australian Association of Mathematics Teachers (AAMT) Inc., is the nation’s premier organisation of mathematics educators.
International
- London Mathematical SocietyThe London Mathematical Society (LMS) is the UK’s learned society for mathematics. Its purpose is the advancement, dissemination and promotion of mathematical knowledge, both nationally and internationally.
- Mathematical AssociationThe Mathematical Association actively engages in consultation and discussion on the issues currently affecting Mathematics education.
- American Mathematical Society (AMS)A professional society since 1888, the society advance research and connect the diverse global mathematical community through publications, meetings and conferences, MathSciNet, professional services, advocacy, and awareness programs.
- Mathematical Association of America (MAA)The MAA is a member-driven organization, run by and for members. Together, their community shares a commitment to their mission: "to advance the understanding of mathematics, and its impact on our world."
- European Mathematical SocietyThe European Mathematical Society is a learned society representing mathematicians throughout Europe. It promotes the development of all aspects of mathematics in Europe, in particular mathematical research, relations of mathematics to society, relations to European institutions, and mathematical education.
- International Mathematical Union (IMU)IMU is an international non-governmental and non-profit scientific organization, with the purpose of promoting international cooperation in mathematics. It is a member of the International Science Council (ISC).
- Society for Industrial and Applied MathematicsSociety for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM) is an international community of over 14,000 individual members. Almost 500 academic, manufacturing, research and development, service and consulting organizations, government, and military organizations worldwide are institutional members.
- Institute of Mathematics and its ApplicationsThe Institute of Mathematics and its Applications (IMA) exists to support the advancement of mathematical knowledge and its applications and to promote and enhance mathematical culture in the United Kingdom and elsewhere, for the public good.
Statistics
- Royal Statistical Society (RSS)The RSS is a professional body for all statisticians and data analysts wherever they may live.
- Statistical Society of AustraliaThe overall objective of the Society is to further the study, application and good practice of statistical theory and methods in all branches of learning and enterprise.
- South Australia- Statistical Society of AustraliaThe South Australian Branch of the Statistical Society holds regular meetings on a Wednesday of each month. At each meeting an invited local or visiting professional presents a one hour seminar on a statistical topic.
- Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS)Discover Australian trends and get census data as well as find statistics on particular areas such as economics, people, industry etc.
- United Nations StatisticsThe United Nations Statistics Division is committed to the advancement of the global statistical system.
Mathematics fun!
- My Favourite TheoremA podcast dedicated to sharing our guests' favorite mathematical results. Follow them on Twitter at @myfavethm.
- Women in Math: The Limit Does Not ExistThis podcast is an effort to promote visibility of women in mathematics. Inspired by the fact that women are vast minority in higher mathematics, Women in Math: The Limit Does Not Exist serves to increase enrollment and participation of women in mathematics and STEM courses.
- The Secrets of MathematicsA series of talks and lectures from Oxford Mathematicians exploring the power and beauty of their subject. These talks would appeal to anyone interested in mathematics and its ever-growing range of applications from medicine to economics and beyond.
- Mathematics in MoviesThis is a collection of movie clips in which Mathematics appears.
- Relatively Prime: Stories from the Mathematical DomainRelatively Prime is a mathematics podcast all about the stories behind the Queen of the Sciences that Samuel Hansen dreamt up in an extreme bout of egotism and delusions of grandeur where they spent too long listening to Radiolab, This American Life, and Snap Judgment and began to think, “Hey, I could do that.”
- More or Less- BBC RadioTim Harford explains - and sometimes debunks - the numbers and statistics used in political debate, the news and everyday life.
- The Random SampleThe Random Sample is a podcast series from the Australian Research Council of Excellence for Mathematical and Statistical Frontiers.