In this section, you will learn about:
Watch the video [2m20s] to learn about scholarly sources.
|Evidence-based practice (EBP)||EBP is the integration of individual expertise and best available clinical evidence. It follows a rigorous structure of asking an answerable question, searching systematically for best evidence, critically appraising the evidence, applying the evidence to patient care, and evaluating the process (BMJ 1996).|
|Grey literature||Grey literature has two definitions:
|PICO / PIO / PICOT||The typical framework for breaking down an intervention-based research question. Stands for population, intervention, comparison, outcome.|
|Search strategy||A search strategy is a combination of key terms used to search in a database or the Library Catalogue. It combines key concepts and relevant keywords (and sometimes subject headings) in a strategic manner to retrieve the most relevant results.|
(e.g. MeSH / EmTree)
|Subject headings are a thesaurus that provides controlled and hierarchically-organized vocabularies, which are utilised for more comprehensive literature searching.|
|Systematic reviews||"A systematic review is a review of a clearly formulated question that uses systematic and explicit methods to identify, select, and critically appraise relevant research, and to collect and analyse data from the studies that are included in the review" -- PRISMA statement|
|What is the Library Catalogue?|
Use the Library Catalogue to search UniSA's Library collection of books, journal articles, magazines, newspapers, videos and more. Note: not all resources in the Library Catalogue are peer-reviewed or scholarly.
Searching the Library Catalogue allows you to quickly find items in the physical collection as well as electronic resources such as journal articles.
|What is a Library database?|
Databases are library subscribed repositories that allow you to efficiently search for academic resources. Library databases can be multidisciplinary (Scopus) or discipline-specific (Ovid MEDLINE - a Health database).
Searching different library databases will help you find the most current and subject-specific information, especially scholarly books and peer-reviewed journal articles.
To find out more about how to develop a search strategy, go to Plan your search tab.