Find information
Where to search
Choosing which search tools to use to find information and when to use them is important to find relevant results.
Video length: 2 min 31 sec
Key points from the video
- Different search tools cover different collections of resources
- Search multiple places to save time and find better results
- All resources need to be evaluated before using them
More help
Search using the Library Collection
The Library Collection is a good place to start your search. Books can be useful for getting background or an overview of your topic.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches academic or scholarly sites, rather than the whole internet. Access from the Library homepage to see the 'Full text at UniSA' option.
More help
Search using databases
Databases are online collections of resources including articles, papers, book chapters and reports.
Some key databases
- ProQuest CentralProvides access to more than 11,000 publications. Covers current and international content in over 160 subject areas.
- ScienceDirectFulltext scientific database that contains peer-reviewed journal articles and book chapters.
- Business Source UltimateProvides information covering all areas of business including accounting and finance; banking; finance and insurance; construction; computer science; economics and more. Includes country economic reports as well as detailed company profiles.
- Emerald InsightEmerald Insight currently provides online access to 300 journals and over 2,350 books and book series volumes, as well as providing an extensive range of online products and additional customer resources and services.
More help
Journals
Working with Aboriginal communities
To support students' understanding of ‘working with, not to’ when collaborating with clients and communities, STEM developed the Blue Wren resource to guide students through a case study on upgrading facilities for an Aboriginal sporting association.
Students can also enhance their consultation skills while crafting engineering solutions for local Aboriginal and international Indigenous communities, as part of the Engineers Without Borders (EWB) Challenge.
Find additional resources
Grey literature
'Information produced on all levels of government, academia, business and industry in electronic and print formats not controlled by commercial publishing' - 1997 International Conference on Grey Literature, Luxembourg - definition expanded in New York, 2004
Why search for grey literature?
- introduces alternative perspectives
- minimises reporting bias
- can be essential in changing research areas
- contains more local information
More information on grey literature
Some key grey literature websites
News media
The Library's News Media Guide provides help searching and evaluating newspapers, television, radio and media releases.
Industry information and statistics
Have a look at the Library's Company and Industry Information Guide, which includes a range of statistical resources.
Choose which references to use
As you find references, think about whether they are appropriate to use in your assignment. Evaluate all resources before including them, even if you found them through the Library Collection or Databases.
Video length: 3 min 17 sec
How to evaluate resources
| CRAAP | Questions to ask |
|---|---|
| Currency | How current does the information need to be? Do you need to use information published in the last five years or are older, seminal works fine to use? |
| Relevance | Does the information found answer your question? Do you understand the content and is it at the right level for your purpose? |
| Authority | What are the author's qualifications? Are they linked to a particular organisation such as a university, research institute or government department? |
| Accuracy | Is evidence given for the research undertaken? Can you verify the information presented by using other sources? Is there a bibliography or references given? |
| Purpose | Is it trying to communicate research, persuade you or sell you something? Is it expressing an opinion, or is it balanced and objective? |