Find (re-use) data
Research Data Access Portal
- Data Access Portal - Access hereProvides open access to research collections and datasets developed or collected by UniSA.
Video length: 3 min 17 sec
Data citation
"It is now considered ‘best practice’ to provide a reference to data and software in the same way as researchers routinely provide a bibliographic reference to outputs such as journal articles, reports and conference papers. Citing data and software is one of the key practices leading to recognition of data and software as a primary research output." -- Data Citation (ARDC)
You need to credit the original source of any data you re-use so:
- creators can have their data recognised as a separate research output
- the impact of data usage can be tracked through data citation metrics
- data can be verified
- Data citationGeneral information page on data citation and its benefits from ARDC.
Creators / authors may specify exactly how they want you to attribute their data. If it is unclear or they do not specify you should include the following details where possible:
- Creator(s) / Author(s) / Authoring body
- Publication date
- Dataset title
- Version
- Publisher or Host name
- Date viewed
- Identifier (URL, DOI or Handle)
Example:
- Cite your dataAdvice and examples from DataCite (a non-for-profit organisation).
- How to cite research data and softwareExamples of data citation from ARDC
Find data
- Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander (ATSIDA)A specialised trusted RDM facility for Australian Aboriginal research data managed by UTS (University of Technology Sydney) Library.
- ARDC Research Data AustraliaFind, access, and reuse data for research from over 100 Australian research organisations, government agencies, and cultural institutions.
- Australian Data Archive (ADA)A national service for the collection and preservation of digital research data and to make these data available for secondary analysis.
- CSIRO Data Access PortalProvides access to data published by CSIRO across a range of disciplines.
- SA-NT DataLinkData linkage services supporting research, policy development, service planning and evaluation.
- DataOneA federation of 30 data repositories in the natural sciences. Some are domain-specific subject repositories, others are institutional repositories at government agencies and universities.
- European Union Open Data PortalYour single point of access to a growing range of data produced by the institutions and other bodies of the European Union. Free to use, reuse, link and redistribute for commercial or non-commercial purposes.
- Google Dataset SearchDiscover datasets from around the world with Google's search engine for datasets.
- Harvard DataverseShare, publish, and archive your data. Find and cite data across all research fields.
- re3data.org (Registry of Research Data Repositories)A global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines. Funded by the German Research Foundation (DFG). Select 'Search' to look for relevant datasets.
- UK Data ArchiveAcquires, curates and provides access to the UK's largest collection of social and economic data.
- UN dataUN statistical databases through a single entry point. Search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system.
- Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS)Find Australian census data on a range of topic areas.
- Data.govThe U.S. Government's open data.
- Data.gov.auFind, access and reuse public datasets in a variety of formats from the Australian Government.
- Data.gov.ukThe U.K. Government's open data site. Contains data published by public bodies and local authorities as well as the central government. It provides links to downloadable data files as well as the ability to create an account to publish data.
- Data.SAIs the South Australian Government's open data portal. The site enables you to locate openly licensed data by either keyword/s, format, licence type, organisation or theme.
- Global Cancer ObservatoryAccess various databases containing information on the occurrence of cancer worldwide. The databases are managed by the Section of Cancer Surveillance (CSU) of the International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC).
- GenBankDesigned to provide and encourage access within the scientific community to the most up to date and comprehensive DNA sequence information.
- Gene Expression OmnibusA public functional genomics data repository supporting MIAME (Minimum Information About a Microarray Experiment) compliant data submissions.
- Global Health Observatory (GHO) dataContains an extensive list of indicators, which can be selected by theme or through a multi-dimension query functionality.
- The Population Health Research Network (PHRN)A ground-breaking program aimed at creating Australia's first national data linkage network.
- SA-NT DataLinkData linkage services supporting research, policy development, service planning and evaluation.
- The Yale University Open Data Access (YODA) ProjectAdvocating the responsible sharing of clinical research data, open science, and research transparency. It is committed to supporting research focused on improving the health of patients and informing science and public health.
Video length: 6 min 56 sec
- Australian Urban Research Infrastructure Network (AURIN)AURIN aims to provide urban and built environment researchers with access to diverse sources of data, data integration capabilities, and an e-research capability for interrogating those data.
- DataOneA federation of 30 data repositories in the natural sciences. Some are domain-specific subject repositories, others are institutional repositories at government agencies and universities.
- Geoscience Australia - data and publicationsAn extensive catalogue of data, publications, online tools, maps and videos.
- Environmental information and dataProvides a listing of popular resources, web services, open data sources curated by the Australian Department of Climate Change, Energy, the Environment and Water.
- PANGAEAAn Open Access library aimed at archiving, publishing and distributing georeferenced data from earth system research.
- Terrestrial Ecosystem Research Network (TERN) Data Discovery PortalDelivering open access to Australia's terrestrial ecosystem data.
- TreeBASEPhylogenetic information, specifically user-submitted phylogenetic trees and the data used to generate them. TreeBASE accepts all types of phylogenetic data representing all biotic taxa.
Data journals
Data journals feature short data articles that describe data sets and link to full data in repositories. They make it easier for researchers to publish their data and make it accessible.
Examples of data journals include:
Recent journal articles on data journals and data sharing:
Huang, PP and Jeng, W. 2022. "Data Paper as a Reward? Motivation, Consideration, and Perspective behind Data Paper Submission". Proceedings of the Association for Information Science and Technology 59 (1): 437–441. DOI: https://doi.org/10.1002/pra2.648
Hrynaszkiewicz, I, Harney, J and Cadwallader, L. 2021. "A Survey of Researchers’ Needs and Priorities for Data Sharing". Data Science Journal 20 (31): 1–16. DOI: https://doi.org/10.5334/dsj-2021-031
Walters, WH. 2020. “Data Journals: Incentivizing Data Access and Documentation Within the Scholarly Communication System”. Insights 33 (1): 18. DOI: http://doi.org/10.1629/uksg.510