Aboriginal knowledges and perspectives in the curriculum
We respectfully acknowledge the Kaurna, Boandik and Barngarla First Nations Peoples and their Elders past and present, who are the First Nations' Traditional Owners of the lands that are now home to our campuses in Adelaide, Mount Gambier and Whyalla.
Aboriginal Peoples are advised this guide may link to resources that contain images, voices and names of deceased people.
| This page was developed with the assistance and expertise of PJ Edwards. |
Why is this important?
As an educator, it is important you continually critically evaluate any Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander resources you choose to incorporate into the curriculum. This allows you to:
- Highlight Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander perspectives
- Promote Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander's lives respectfully
- Reduce harm to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples
- Address racist and stereotypical views
- Help redress past harm caused by use of inappropriate resources
Adapted from AIATSIS Guide to evaluating and selecting education resources (p. 3)
Getting started
- Professor Mark Rose (1 min 30 sec)Professor Rose explains the significance of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander histories and cultures in curriculum.
- Understand this cross-curriculum priorityAboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Histories and Cultures
- Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Histories and Cultures: cross-curriculum prioritiesDownloadable materials from ACARA
Using the AIATSIS Guidelines
- AIATSIS Guide to evaluating and selecting education resourcesThese provide you with guidance on how to select and evaluate resources for respectful and appropriate use in the curriculum.
Key part |
What it covers |
| Reflecting on self (page 8) | Critical questions to ask yourself when selecting a resource. |
|
Core questions when evaluating resources (pages 9-10) |
Guidance to help you make integrity driven decisions. Includes three domains:
|
Using the AITSL Standards
- Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander educationThese professional standards help you identify what to know and do to teach Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students, and all students about Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander languages, history and culture.
Finding teaching resources
How to search the Pedagogies in Practice collection
Databases to search
These contain a range of videos and stories from Aboriginal perspectives.
Examples of teaching resources
Indigenous sea creatures
Picture book
Australian Aboriginal sea animals
Teaching aid
Indigenous Literacy Foundation
Resources
Marngrook : a long-ago story of Aussie Rules
Picture book
Magabala Books
Resources
Found
Picture book
Indigenous games. Set 1
Activity pack
Burlayi: the matching game
Memory game
Openly available resources
Anti-racism resources
General resources
- Australian together: curriculum resourcesNote: need to register to access curriculum resources
Explore here a range of openly available guides and teaching resources suggestions welcome.
The Arts
Humanities and Social Sciences
Languages
- Gambay: First Languages MapSee Teacher’s Notes page on the website as support to teaching about ATSI languages as a cross-curriculum priority.
Mathematics
Science
Find relevant theories
To find relevant theoretical papers start by searching the Library collection. Try a basic search, for example: decolonising curriculum, or an Advanced search.
Advanced search example
- Add each different concept into a new search field. These are connected using AND.
- Add synonyms or alternative keywords using the connector OR to make your search more comprehensive.
- To add another concept to your search select +ADD A NEW LINE.
For example: Aboriginal OR Indigenous OR "First Nations"
More search keywords
- decolonising | decolonisation | diversity | culturally responsive | culturally responsive teaching | culturally responsive pedagogies | self determination
Databases to search for literature
Some key readings
Supporting communities
First Nation publishers you can support or find resources to suggest for the collection
Suggest a resource
- Suggest a ResourceAll staff and students can suggest resources they believe should be added to the collection using this form.
Alternatively contact the Ask the Library service via email.