Creative Writing and Literature: COMM 1061: Creative Writing and Literature: An introduction

Assignment Help

What do you need to do?

It's important to understand your assessment before you start searching. Read through the details in your course outline and course website. This can help you to:

  • know what you need to do
  • what sort of resources you need e.g. articles, book chapters
  • where to search

Throughout the course you can extend yourself and explore the topics further. This page will give you some tips and places you can search.

Course textbook

Don't forget you need to include references to content from the course textbooks in your assignment commentaries.

Plan your search

  • Searching for your whole assignment is not very effective
  • Identify the key concepts in your question or topic
  • Think about what other words (similar words or alternative terms) might be used to describe the key concepts
  • Connect your concepts using AND and OR
  • You can change your search as you find more information
Read: How to plan your search [pdf]
View the Writing your assignment page for more info on interpreting your topic and planning your search

Finding information

?

The Library Collection is a great place to start finding information. 

This example uses quotation marks to search for 2 words "bright star" as a phrase so that it searches for the words together.

Too many search results? Use the Refine my Results menu (on the left hand side) to refine your search.

Want to know more?

Watch How to search the Library Collection (1min 48)
Practice with Learn to search the Library Catalogue (Interactive Tutorial)

Google Scholar searches within academic or scholarly sites, rather than the whole internet. Access via the Library for full text at UniSA links to resources held in the collection.

Want to Know More?

Practice using Google Scholar with our Interactive Tutorial  (10 min.)
Watch Why use Google Scholar (2 min 13)
Watch Advanced Google Scholar search (1 min 22)

Databases are search tools for finding articles, conference papers, reports and more. We also have specialised databases containing books, book reviews, newspapers articles.

You can find databases by title or browse by subject list try Creative Arts > Literature

Example books from the collection

Watch a video

LinkedIn Learning is an online library of high-quality instructional videos.

  Here is a small collection of example titles on creative writing and grammar, find more titles by browsing.


Ted Talks a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks

   Here is a playlist of called 12 talks from authors

I just want to browse

Useful websites for free books

Harvard UniSA referencing

Referencing Roadmap (Harvard)

Need help referencing using Harvard UniSA? Follow the roadmap! 

Further Assignment Help

The Student Engagement Unit has created a suite of resources called Study Help that can help you understand different assignment types and study skills.

Studiosity offers assistance with academic writing, referencing, maths, business studies and more. Use the online chat or submit work for feedback.