Skip to Main Content

HUMS 1055: World history trends and transformations

Essay Assessments

This assignment help will assist you in finding information for your essays.


It's important to understand your assessment before you start. Please refer to your Course Outline and LearnOnline site for detailed information about the assessment requirements.

Searching for literature: plan your search

Planning your search helps you find information more efficiently.

Start by:

  •  Identifying the main concepts in your research question
  •  Thinking of any alternative concepts or synonyms for each concept
  •  Connecting your concepts together using boolean (AND and OR) to form a search

A table or mindmap can be a useful strategy for doing this. 

For example, if your topic is 'Analyse three examples of the lasting impact of Ancient Greek society and culture on the evolution of human civilisation', you could do:

Main concepts

Concept 1
impact

Concept 2
Greek

Concept 3
civilisation

Synonyms

(similar concepts)

influence         

effect

Greece

Hellenic    

Hellenistic

civilization           

culture

custom

society       

This search can serve as a starting point in your research and help you find relevant resources. However, you may notice that you are finding a large volume of irrelevant results. 

If this is the case, including a phrase such as ‘influence of Greek’ (which you may have come across in relevant results within your first search), will yield fewer results, but they will likely be more relevant. You can include the area of civilisation that has been influenced by Ancient Greek culture and society as your second concept, for example:

Main concepts

Concept 1
"influence of Greek"

Concept 2
art

Synonyms

(similar concepts)

"influence of Greece"

"influence of Hellenic" 
"influence of Hellenistic"
"Greek influence"
"Hellenic influence"
"Hellenistic influence"

painting

sculpture

Tip: As you search, you may come across more concepts or synonyms you can incorporate. Don't be afraid to change or modify your search as you go.

Watch or read the below for more information on how to put together a search using operators:

More help

Watch Plan your search  (video length: 2 min 26 sec)

Read: How to plan your search (PDF - 276KB)

View the Writing your assignment page for more info on interpreting your topic and planning your search

Searching for literature: understanding boolean operators

Boolean operators (connectors) are what you use to connect your search concepts together to form different search strategies.

The below table summarises how they work:

Boolean operator What it does Example
AND Finds less results when concepts are combined with AND Impact AND Greek
OR
  • Broadens your search
  • Includes results that use different terminology
 Greek OR Greece OR Hellenic OR Hellenistic
Search strategy: (Historical OR History) AND (Cloth OR Jeans OR shoes) AND (race OR class)

Choose where to search

Where should you search?

Knowing where to search is just as important as knowing how to search. The following video will help you to understand why and when to use different search tools.

 Video Length: 2 minutes 14 seconds

  • Not all search tools will give you access to the same information.
  • Understanding why and when to use different search tools will save you time.
  • The Library Collection:
    • is a good place to search for scholarly material.
    • provides free access to a variety of resources types across a range of subject areas.
  • Databases:
    • help focus your search and have more advanced searching options.
  • Google Scholar:
    • provides access to a wide range of resources, but not all of it is scholarly. 
    • use the Google Scholar link from the Library website for best access to full-text references.
  • Some types of specific information are best found using a search engine or specific website.
  • All resources need to be evaluated before using them.

Searching for literature: where to search

Once you've built a search strategy, you can apply it in search tools. Watch Choosing where to search - video (2 min 31 sec) for example searches below.

The Library Collection can be a useful starting point in locating information.

Put your search in the basic search box, group your alternative keywords inside brackets e.g. impact AND Greek AND civilisation

Screenshot of basic Library Collection search

Alternatively, use the advanced search to split your concepts on to different rows e.g.

impact OR influence OR effect

AND

Greek OR Greece OR Hellenic OR Hellenistic

AND

civilisation OR civilization OR culture OR custom OR society

Screenshot of Advanced Library Collection search

Use Refine my results on the left hand side to narrow your results. Here are some examples:

  • Show Only - Peer-reviewed journals
  • Resource Type - Book chapters
  • Publication Date - limit to the last 10 years

Databases are searching tools for finding articles, papers, reports and more.  Some databases are subject-specific, whilst others may cover multiple subject areas. See the  In Focus: History  page for a summary of history databases and other relevant history resources.

Google Scholar searches within academic or scholarly sites, rather than the whole internet. Access via the Library for full text at UniSA links to resources held in the collection.

 

Demo Google Scholar search:

(“influence of Greek” OR “influence of Greece” OR “influence of Hellenic” OR “influence of Hellenistic” OR “Greek influence” OR “Hellenic influence” OR “Hellenistic influence”)

AND

(art OR painting OR sculpture)

Screenshot of Google Scholar search

Want to Know More?

Watch Why use Google Scholar (2 min 13)

Watch Advanced Google Scholar search (1 min 22)

Citation Tracking

 

When you've found a really useful article or book chapter, look at the reference list and who has cited (referenced) it to find further relevant literature.

Key databases and search tools which track citations include: Scopus, Web of Science, Google Scholar and the Library Collection.

In the Library Collection, look for citing this or  cited in this.

For more information, watch Citation Tracking - video (1 min 50 sec) 

Peer reviewed resources

Peer reviewed (refereed) journals are of a high quality and must go through an evaluation process with experts in the field before being published.  The terms scholarly and academic are sometimes used instead.

 You can also use the "Refine my Search" menu to show only Peer Reviewed articles in your search results.

Want to Know More?

View Find Scholarly Sources - (PDF - 305 KB) 

Watch Scholarly sources Explained - video - (2 min 22 sec)

 

Write your essay

This short video (video length: 2 min 27 sec) goes through the process of writing an essay.

 

The Student Engagement Unit has created a suite of resources called Study Help that can help you understand different assignment types.

Take a look at:

 

Studiosity offers assistance with academic writing, referencing, maths, business studies and more. Use the online chat or submit work for feedback.

Referencing

You must appropriately cite (‘acknowledge’) all references used in your assignment to avoid plagiarism.