Migration
Library resources
Library collection
Here are some Library Collection search starters:
These are just a few that you may find useful. Find more relevant databases here
Here are a few journals so you could start browsing / searching within. What others can you find?
- Diaspora: a Journal of Transnational Studies
- Ethnic and Racial Studies
- European Journal of Migration and Law
- Immigrants & Minorities
- International Migration
- International Migration Review
- Journal of Ethnic and Migration Studies
- Journal of Immigrant and Minority Health
- Journal of Intercultural Studies
- Journal of Refugee Studies
- Refugee Survey Quarterly
The Library has a range of videos to assist you. TIP: When searching the library catalogue, use the Refine my results menu to refine the Resource Type to Videos.
Here are a few highlights:
- Admission impossible (2015)
- Border politics (2018)
- Floating life (Fu sheng) (1996)
- Immigration nation: the secret history of us (SBS 2011)
- Lifeboat (2018)
- Revenir (To return) (2018)
- The wall (2019)
In the news
Find news reports, articles, television broadcasts and more
Visit the News Media guide, featuring news sources from Australia and around the world. Includes links to resources subscribed to by the Library as well as to freely available resources
TVNews: A chief source for Australian television news and current affairs
Updated daily includes content from the free-to-air networks programs include: Dateline, Four Corners, Insiders, Insight, Media Watch, and Q&A.
Statistics and organisations
Find statistics
A huge range of statistical resources can be found via the Library collection and databases.
- ABS Quick Stats
- OECD data
- Statista
- UN National Statistical Offices
- UNESCO Institute for Statistics
- More Statistics databases...
OR when searching databases or the catalogue for statistics, simply add the word 'statistics' into your search.
Government departments, organisations and institutes
- Department of Home Affairs (Australian Government)
- Asylum seekers and refugees (Australian Human Rights Commission)
- International Organization for Migration (IOM)
- Embrace Multicultural Mental Health (Australia)
- Australian Migrant Resource Centre (AMRC)
- Migration Institute of Australia
- Refugee Council of Australia (RCOA)
- Immigration SA (Government of South Australia)
- Global Issues (United Nations)