Theories and theorists
Getting started - introductory works
Sometimes you need to understand the basics of a theory before you can do more in-depth research.
Explore the Library collection to find introductory information about relevant theories that apply to your research. Handbooks, encyclopedias and other introductory works can be useful starters.
Here are a few:
The concise encyclopedia of sociology - edited by Publication Date: 2011
Contemporary social theory: an introduction by Publication Date: 2014
Encyclopedia of social theory by Publication Date: 2005
Handbook of contemporary sociological theory by Publication Date: 2016
Key concepts in classical social theory by Publication Date: 2011
Theorists and theories
Works by and about theories
You can search for information written by or about a particular theorist using the Library catalogue's Advanced Search feature.
- To find information written by a theorist, enter their name and select author/creator from the drop down list.
- To find information written about a theorist, enter their name and select subject from the drop down list.
- To search both, do both of the above steps and select the connector OR on the second line.
Search tip: You do not need to capitalise names when searching.
Below are example searches for some relevant theorists:
Researching theories
To find information on theories, try a keyword search in the Library Collection or a relevant database.
Search tip: Visit the Plan your Search and Find Information pages of this guide for more help developing a keyword search.
Below are example keyword searches for relevant theories: