Start your search in the Library Catalogue.
1. Make a list of keywords, search for phrases using "quotation marks"
2. Combine these keywords using OR, AND or NOT.
OR: Combines keywords on the same concept
AND: Combines different concepts
NOT: Excludes words that complicate the search, use with caution
Then further refine your search by date and format. For more information, check out the "How to find..." section below, and the How to connect and combine search terms guide.
Marketing Industry Publications can be a useful source of credible information and keep you in touch with the current trends in marketing and advertising and industry news.
These resources may be of use to you.
Accessible via UniSA Library subscription:
Accessible via internet, non-UniSA subscription :
You can find dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks specifically about marketing via our library catalogue here are some examples available online:
Need help searching Passport GMID? Watch this video created by the library,
Need help searching D&B hoovers? Watch this video created by the library.
**Note: since creation of video database has changed names from OneSource to D&B hoovers. All other content remains the same.
A scholarly source, or academic source, is written by a qualified author who is an expert in their field. They are usually published in books or journals, rather than on websites. A scholarly source will likely have a reference list or bibliography at the end of it.
How can you tell if a source is scholarly?
Books: A scholarly book or eBook might be from an academic publisher or a University press. You can also find out information about the author and look for their qualifications.
Journals: Many academic journals are peer reviewed. This means that the article has been evaluated by experts on the subject before it was approved for publication.
For more information, read the Finding peer reviewed journal articles guide.
|Watch - Scholarly Sources Explained (approx 3 mins) - Learn why scholarly sources are important to use and how you can identify them.|
Video provided courtesy of La Trobe University Library
To find Industry Publications in the Library Catalogue you need to:
Enter the name of the required journal into the search box and select Journal Title;
Select Campaign journal catalogue link from the list of results and then the EBSCO Online link;
If you select Search within this publication it will find only the journal Campaign.
For a more targeted search, select New Search;
Enter journal name and select SO Publication Name from the drop down menu.
Combine this with your search term or terms, for example, Pepsi;
These results will include those from different editions of Campaign such as Campaign and Campaign Asia-Pacific.
Search databases to find quality journal articles on your topic. The databases listed under Marketing and Advertising will be particularly useful. View the finding articles page of this Subject Guide for more information.
NOTE: Most of the databases can be accessed from outside the UniSA computer network by entering your UNINET User name and Password. Some databases and journals require different passwords. These can be accessed from the specific Database page.
Remember, different databases contain different articles and types of information (although there can be some overlap), so if you don't find what you need in one database, try another one.
WARC (using the Advanced search option)
TIP: change the field from the default All fields to Abstract to have your search terms listed in the abstract field (many authors list the key terms which describe and summarise their articles in the abstract) - this will help to increase the relevance of the articles you retrieve.
For more help and tips on searching specific databases, have a look at the help screens within the individual databases - they really are helpful!
To find eBooks in the catalogue you need to:
You will then be able to see book chapters and electronic books in your search results. To access click on the title link and then the online link.
Visit the Library's eBook guide for help finding, accessing, printing and downloading eBooks.
When you search in the Library Catalogue, you can refine your search by format (shown to the right). For physical books, you can also select a specific campus if you wish (you can also request to have books delivered from other campuses and put on hold for you).
Once you have found a book in the library catalogue and would like to borrow it, take note of the Call number. This will help you locate it on the shelf. Each book is labelled with its call number. When you visit the library, you will notice that the shelves are labelled by number range and you will find similar books near each other.
In the catalogue, the call number looks like this:
Tip: Use the call number or subject heading to also search within the Library Catalogue for books on the same subject
Most of the Marketing books are located at the City West campus on level 3 of the Jeffrey Smart building, under the following call numbers:
|Subject Heading||Call number|
Finding a journal article using the library catalogue:
Finding a journal article using databases:
You can search databases to find quality journal articles on your topic. To find which databases are best suited to your subject area, go to the Key Resources box, also on this page of the guide.
In databases, you can use truncations and wildcards to broaden your search.
- Searching for consumer behavi?r will show results for articles
that include the spelling behavior and behaviour.
- Searching for advertis* will show results
for advertising, advertisements, advertisers, etc.
NOTE: Most of the databases can be accessed from outside the UniSA computer network by entering your UniSA network username and password.
There are several ways that you can find case studies:
Here are some examples of a search for case studies:
The Journal of Business Case Studies is an open access journal which allows you to search for case studies across a range of topics, including marketing. All case studies are fully downloadable as pdfs.
Searching for Case Studies in databases:
Try the following searches in the Business Source Complete database to find case study articles or chapters:
Use '?' for the different spellings organizational/organisational. Refer to the save time searching databases with truncation, wildcards and phrases guide for more information.
Using SAGE Business Cases you can search 1000+ case studies covering a wide variety of topics related to business, including marketing and market research
In the Emerald Insight database, go to Advanced Search and select the Case Studies tab at the top to search from only case studies.
WARC includes many case studies from across the world. Content includes campaign award winners, videos, WARC prize winners and external rankings of agencies, advertisers and brands via the Effie Effectiveness Index.
Finding newspaper articles
For information and links on finding newspaper articles from both Australia and around the world, have a look at the News Media Subject Guide.
Library Catalogue results automatically exclude newspaper articles, but you can add them back in to your results after searching.
Catalogue search example:
This search has been limited using the following steps:
The databases listed below contain both Australian and international content:
What are they and why use them?
Conference papers are the written version of presentations given at conferences or meetings of professional/scholarly bodies and organisations. Conference proceedings are a collection of these papers from a specific conference/meeting. The papers are generally reviewed by peers and collected together by the editors before being made available.
Conference papers can be a great way to find up to date information, research trends and innovations on a specific topic. Researchers often present their research findings at conferences first before writing journal articles. This can allow you to get a better understanding of the findings from the researcher themselves.
Finding conference proceedings in the Library Catalogue:
Conduct a search as you would normally, e.g: "brand loyalty"
Then refine by format and select 'Conference Proceedings' (shown to the right)
Finding conference proceeding in databases
The Library subscribes to many databases which contain conference papers including:
Once you have found information for your assignments it is important to think about whether or not the information is of a good quality and useful. To do this you will need to evaluate it before you use it in your academic work.
|Watch - You be the Judge - learn to evaluate (approx 3 mins) - Learn how to evaluate websites and other resources to decide if they are appropriate for your needs.|
The Critical analysis of information sources guide by Macquarie University also contains really useful information about evaluating the information you've found for your assignment.