Aboriginal research
Research texts
Applying Indigenous Research Methods by Publication Date: 2019
Decolonizing Methodologies by Publication Date: 2021
Disciplining the Savages Savaging the Disciplines by Publication Date: 2007
Handbook of Critical and Indigenous Methodologies by Publication Date: 2008
The Indigenous Experience: Global Perspectives by Publication Date: 2006
Indigenous Methodologies by Publication Date: 2010
Indigenous Pathways into Social Research by Publication Date: 2013
Indigenous research: theories, practices, and relationships by Publication Date: 2018
Please Knock Before You Enter by Publication Date: 2008
Social Research Methods by Publication Date: 2014
Whitening Race by Publication Date: 2004
Aboriginal research links
- AIATSIS Code of Ethics for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander ResearchProduced by the Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies (AIATSIS), this code of ethics provides guidance on ethical and responsible practice in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander research in Australia.
- James Cook University Indigenous Studies Guide - Research Ethics pageResearch ethics with reference made to AITSIS Code of Ethics.
- NHRMC - Ethical guidelines for research with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoplesThese guidelines, released by the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHRMC), provide relevant advice about ethical conduct in research with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities.
- QUT Indigenous studies guide - Indigenous Knowledge: Research Ethics & ProtocolsIncludes a selection of texts used in Aboriginal Research
- University of Melbourne Indigenous Knowledges Research Guide - Ethics and Research PrinciplesThis page focuses on the importance of protecting Indigenous knowledge and intellectual property and conducting research ethically.
- University of Melbourne Indigenous Knowledges Research Guide - Research Data PageThis page has a focus on data sovereignty and provides guidance on managing research data.
Archives and Special Collections
Primary sources and information on Aboriginal, Torres Strait Islander and Indigenous studies can often be found in special and archival collections. To find out more, visit the following links:
- Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Special Collection (UniSA Library)
- Finding Aboriginal histories page on the Library's Archival Research guide
Please note: When searching special and archival collections, you may come across words and descriptions in resources that are culturally insensitive and not used in today's context.
Referencing Aboriginal knowledges
- Indigenous Referencing Guidance for Indigenous KnowledgesThis resource, developed by the Indigenous Archives Collective (IAC), provides referencing guidance for citing Aboriginal knowledges. The resource includes two parts: a decision tree that can help determine if a resource is appropriate or problematic, and a citation guide.
Other Aboriginal Studies texts
Routledge Handbook of Critical Indigenous Studies by Publication Date: 2020
The Little Red Yellow Black Book by Publication Date: 2019
Being Indigenous by Publication Date: 2018
Reclaiming Indigenous Governance by Publication Date: 2019
Aboriginal Peoples, Colonialism and International Law by Publication Date: 2014
Indigenous Education in Australia by Publication Date: 2021
