Cultural Advice

Aboriginal Peoples are advised the Library Collection contains images, voices and names of deceased people in physical and online resources.

The Library recognises the significance of the traditional cultural knowledges contained within its Collection. The Library acknowledge some materials contain language that may not reflect current attitudes, was published without consent or recognition, or, is offensive. These materials reflect the views of the authors and/or the period in which they were produced and do not represent the views of the Library.

Skip to Main Content

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Collection

The Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Collection comprises of books and material relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultures and histories. The Collection contains material which may be racist, sexist, derogatory or abusive and may cause offence. Also included is material that is secret, sacred, dated or which has been separated or removed from open shelves because of cultural sensitivities. Books on Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Art received as part of the Margaret Carnegie Gift to the Library in 1992 are also incorporated into this Collection. 

Local Aboriginal people have been consulted in creating this Collection. The Collection has been created in accordance with the principles in the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Protocols for Libraries, Archives and Information Services (ATSILIRN)

Access and explore the collection


The Collection is housed in the Jeffrey Smart Building at the University of South Australia City West Campus. Access is by appointment only. Some items may be borrowed for teaching purposes by UniSA staff.

Contact Ask the Library to make an appointment or for more information.

You can explore the Collection by browsing Collection Discovery or searching the Special Collections Catalogue.