Cultural Advice

Aboriginal Peoples are advised the Library Collection contains images, voices and names of deceased people in physical and online resources.

The Library recognises the significance of the traditional cultural knowledges contained within its Collection. The Library acknowledge some materials contain language that may not reflect current attitudes, was published without consent or recognition, or, is offensive. These materials reflect the views of the authors and/or the period in which they were produced and do not represent the views of the Library.

Skip to Main Content

Rosemary Crowley Collection

The Rosemary Crowley Collection documents the career of the Hon Rosemary Crowley AO. 

Elected in 1983, Crowley was the first South Australian female Australian Labor Party senator to serve in federal parliament. She served as the Minister for Family Services from 1993 to 1996 and the Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for the Status of Women in 1993. With a strong Interest In community health Issues, childcare, and parent education along with her dedication to social justice and democracy her Collection has a strong focus on public health and social issues, particularly affecting women, children and families. 

The Collection includes correspondence, papers, speeches, photographs, campaign material, books, audio-visual materials, gifts and memorabilia.

Picture - Rosemary Crowley, UniSA Library, 2008

Access and explore the collection

The Collection is housed in the Bob Hawke Prime Ministerial Library at the University of South Australia City West Campus. Access is by appointment only. Contact Ask the Library to make an appointment.

You can explore the Collection through the Box List available from the Special Collections Catalogue.

Biography

Photograph of Rosemary Crowley in the Bob Hawke Prime Ministerial Library with some items from her collection, 2011Dr Rosemary Crowley was the first South Australian female senator for the Australian Labor Party to serve in federal parliament, which she did from her election into office in 1983. Crowley was the Minister for Family Services from 1993 to 1996 and the Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for the Status of Women in 1993. Crowley was involved in the implemented the Child Care Rebate Act 1993 as well as reforms to Medicare.

Prior to entering politics, Crowley had a career as a medical practitioner and as such, she had a strong interest in community health issues including women's heath, childcare and parent education. She was also involved in school and community organisations and was a foundation member of the South Australian Mental Health Tribunal. Throughout her political career Crowley was dedicated to social justice and democracy. Crowley also headed a government enquiry into Women, Sport and the Media, which was instrumental in increasing funding and support to women's sport.

Crowley retired from politics in 2002 after 19 years of service.

Photograph - Rosemary Crowley in the Bob Hawke Prime Ministerial Library, UniSA Library, 2008

Discover more

Resources in other collections

More about Rosemary Crowley