Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections

Gregor Ramsy Banner with image of Gregor Ramsey

The Gregor Ramsey Collection documents the career of Dr Gregor Ramsey AM (1936-2018). 

Starting as a science teacher in South Australian public schools, Ramsey went on to becoming one of Australia's foremost experts on education. As a policy maker and administrator, he was not only instrumental in shaping Australia's current system of higher and vocational education but also travelled the globe to consult on educational systems. Ramsey served as principal of four Colleges of Advanced Education in Adelaide and was instrumental in advocating and implementing the consolidation process that resulted in the establishment of the University of South Australia in 1991.

The Collection includes speeches, articles, papers and reports written by Ramsey, personal correspondence and newspaper clippings.

Access and explore the collection

The Collection is only available online and can be explored by browsing Collection Discovery or searching the Special Collections Catalogue.

Biography

Dr Gregor Ramsey started his career as a science and maths teacher. After winning a scholarship to complete a PhD in curriculum development at the Ohio State University, Ramsey lived in America for 2 years. Returning to Australia Ramsey worked for the Australian Council for Education Research, developing a national approach to teaching science. 

In the 1970s Ramsey was the principal of four Colleges of Advanced Education in Adelaide, South Australia. He was instrumental in the formation of the South Australian College of Advanced Education, through the consolidation of six Colleges of Advanced Education in 1984. This merger led to the establishment of UniSA in 1991. 

Moving to Canberra in 1984, Ramsey held positions including Commissioner of the Commonwealth Tertiary Education Commission, Chair of the Higher Education Council and Chair of the National Board of Employment, Education and Training. Ramsey went on to become the Managing Director of the New South Wales TAFE Commission, a position which saw him transform vocational education and training in that state. 

Ramsey has also been an advocate for Indigenous education. In 2001 Ramsey became the Project Director for the Desert Peoples Centre in Alice Springs, where he worked to improve Indigenous education and services.  

After 1995 Ramsey provided consultancy services on education, particularly university and vocational education and Indigenous education until his death on 4 May 2018. 

Discover more

Resources in other collections

Featuring Gregor Ramsey