Skip to Main Content

Find information

Where to search

Knowing where to search is just as important as knowing how to search.  The following video will help you to understand why and when to use different search tools.

Video Length: 2 minutes 14 seconds

  • Knowing where to search is just as important as knowing how to search.
  • Not all search tools will give you access to the same information.
  • Understanding why and when to use different search tools will save you time.
  • The Library Collection:
    • is a good place to search for scholarly material.
    • provides free access to a variety of resources types across a range of subject areas.
  • Databases:
    • help focus your search and have more advanced searching options.
  • Google Scholar:
    • provides access to a wide range of resources, but not all of it is scholarly. 
    • use the Google Scholar link from the Library website for best access to full-text references.
  • Some types of specific information are best found using a search engine or specific website.
  • All resources need to be evaluated before using them.

Library Collection

The Library Collection is a great place to start finding information. 

Screenshot of an example search on the topic of decolonisation and Aboriginal health outcomes using the Library Collection

(decolonisation OR decolonise OR decolonization OR decolonize) AND (Aboriginal OR Indigenous OR "First Nations") AND health

Too many search results? Use the Refine my Results menu (on the left hand side) to refine your search.

  • Limit to articles from Peer-Reviewed Journals
  • Limit by Publication Date e.g 2016 to 2021

Want to know more?

 

Databases

The Library Collection does not list everything we have access to. Try a database when you are not finding relevant results in the Catalogue, or in order to restrict your results to a specific discipline, topic area or material type.

Here is an example within Informit Indigenous Collection. The Informit Indigenous Collection brings together a broad range of international Indigenous research resources and offers a variety of content on both historical and topical issues within Indigenous studies.

Example Advanced Search

  • Put a different concept on each line.
  • Use OR to connect any similar terms (synonyms).

Screenshot of an example search on the topic of decolonisation and Aboriginal health outcomes using Informit’s Advanced Search

  • Tip: Use the Find it button to try and locate full text articles.

More Aboriginal, Torres Strait Islander and Indigenous Studies databases 

Want to Know More?

Google Scholar

Google Scholar searches within academic or scholarly sites, rather than the whole internet. Access via the Library for full text at UniSA links to resources held in the collection.

Screenshot of an example search on the topic of decolonisation and Aboriginal health outcomes using Google Scholar

Want to Know More?

Find more information

Find videos

You can access a wide range of video content through a number of key video databases, including:

OR When searching the library collection, use the Refine my Results menu to refine the Resource Type to Audio Visual

Explore the links below to find items in the Library collection by these Indigenous Filmmakers:

Find news media

The Library's News Media Guide provides help searching and evaluating a wide range of Australian and International news media including newspapers, television, radio and media releases.  Start your search with:

 

Find statistics

A huge range of statistical resources can be found via the Library collection and databases.  

OR when searching databases or the collection for statistics, simply add the word 'statistics' into your search.

 

Find archives and special collections

Primary sources and information on Aboriginal, Torres Strait Islander and Indigenous studies can often be found in special and archival collections.  To find out more, visit the following links:

Please note: When searching special and archival collections, you may come across words and descriptions in resources that are culturally insensitive and not used in today's context.

 

Find conference papers

Conference papers or proceedings are the written version of presentations given at conferences or meetings or professional or scholarly bodies and organisations. Conference papers can be a great way to find up to date information, research trends and innovations on a specific topic because researchers often present their findings first at conferences.

To search for conference papers:

  • Include the words conference and/or proceedings in your search.
  • Refine the your results by type or format to limit your results to conference proceedings.
  • Search the Conference proceedings citation index database.
  • Search the websites of specific conferences or organisations.

Select appropriate references

While you are finding references, you need to think about whether they are appropriate to use in your assignment.  You may be asked to use Scholarly or Peer Reviewed material to support your arguments. 

You should evaluate all resources  before including them in your assignment - even if you found them through the Library Collection or Databases.

Want to Know More?