Guides: Accounting: Organisations &amp; standards

Organisations

Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS)
Assists and encourages informed decision making, research and discussion within governments and the community, by leading a high quality, objective and responsive national statistical service. Also provides helpful guides on understanding statistics.
Australian Prudential Regulation Authority (APRA)
Includes policy and research, legislation, statistics, media releases and links.
Australian Securities & Investments Commission (ASIC)
Contains information on accounting, compliance, licensing, auditing and liquidation; as well as links to publications.
Australian Stock Exchange (ASX)
Provides stock market information and stock quotes. Also features investor centre information for shareholders and company details.
Australian Taxation Office (ATO)
Includes information on lodging tax returns and activity statements. Also contains publications, a media centre and online calculators.
Productivity Commission
The Productivity Commission is the Australian Government's independent research and advisory body on a range of economic, social and environmental issues affecting the welfare of Australians. Its role, expressed simply, is to help governments make better policies in the long term interest of the Australian community.

Tip: Statistical resources can be found on the library's Company and Industry Guide (see link below).

Company and Industry Information Guide
This guide will help you search the web and our databases to find company and industry information, financial information, annual reports and country information.

AASB Australian Accounting Standards Board
The primary objective of the AASB Research Centre is to provide thought leadership on financial reporting issues.
The Auditing and Assurance Standards Board (AUASB)
Develops high quality standards and related guidance for auditors and providers of other assurance services.
Financial Accounting Standards Board (US)
United States standards body. Includes publications, news, projects and committees.
International Financial Reporting Standards Foundation (IFRS)
Provides information about membership, structure, and projects, summary of standards and publications list. Based in the UK.
Malaysian Accounting Standards Board (MASB)
Established under the Malaysian Financial Reporting Act, as an independent authority responsible for developing and issuing accounting and financial reporting standards in Malaysia.

ATO Legal database
Online database featuring legislation, case law and policy information from the Australian Taxation Office.
AustLII
Australasian Legal Information Institute. Includes legislation, superior courts and tribunal decisions, journals and some overseas legal information.
Federal Register of Legislation
A free resource containing legislation of the Commonwealth and non-self governing-territories, including ancillary documents (eg. bills and explanatory memoranda). It also contains the Federal Register of Legislative Instruments which includes regulations and statutory rules. Maintained by the Australian Attorney-General's Department.
South Australian Legislation
Access to South Australian legislation and includes information about the creation, variation or cessation of legislation. Updated every weekday.