Architecture and Interior Architecture: Regulations, standards, legislation

Regulations, standards, legislation

What is a standard?

Standards are published documents which establish specifications and procedures to ensure that a material, product, method or service consistently performs as intended. Standards are developed by various agencies, trade and professional associations. Some standards are voluntary while others are enforced by legislation (mandatory).

Standards AustraliaMost Australian standards are produced 
by Standards Australia

STANDARDS - Techstreet Enterprise (replacing SAI Global)

​Techstreet Enterprise is the new database for Australian and International Standards and Codes (replacing SAI Global). 

Techstreet : Standards Australia

Provides full-text access to all current Australian Standards, Joint ISO/Australian Standards, Joint NZ/Australian Standards, current Draft Australian Standards, amendments to Australian Standards and most Standards Australia handbooks.

Take a look at our 'how to find Australian Standards' document which will get you started searching through this database. 

To access standards not included in the current subscription or any other questions, please contact us through Ask the Library.

The National Construction Code (NCC)

Looking for the National Construction Code online? 

The National Construction Code is available for free by registering at https://ncc.abcb.gov.au/. Select the person icon located in the top right hand corner and click "Register".

                                 

The National Construction Code (NCC) comprises the Building Code of Australia (BCA) volumes 1 and 2, and the Plumbing Code of Australia (PCA) as volume 3.​
A print version of the NCC is also available in the Library at the City East campus.

Planning in South Australia

undefined

The South Australian Government's PlanSA webpage includes resources on:

  • legislation
  • development plans
  • development applications
  • Residential Development Code
  • Bushfire Code
  • building policy 

Building Code of Australia (BCA)

[dolanh, 'low ceilings', CC Licence CC BY-NC-SA 2.0 https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/2.0/deed.en, Image Source: Flickr https://www.flickr.com/photos/reneeanddolan/53978887/]

"The Building Code of Australia (BCA), in the National Construction Code series, contains technical provisions for the design and construction of buildings and other structures. The BCA addresses the following matters:

  • structural adequacy
  • fire resistance
  • access and egress
  • services and equipment
  • energy efficiency and sustainability
  • provisions for the health and amenity of occupants.

The BCA is produced and maintained by the Australian Building Codes Board on behalf of the Australian government and state and territory governments."

- Department of Planning, Transport & Infrastructure 2015, The Building Code of Australia

Green building certification rating systems

Green Building incorporates principles of sustainable development – meeting the needs of the present without compromising the future. to find out more follow the links below.

Green Star @ UniSA - The Mawson Institute's Building V was awarded a 5 Star Green Star – Education Design v1 Certified Rating by the GBCA in June 2011

From the collection: Articles from scholarly publications on "Green Star"