Skip to Main Content

Find information

Where to search

Knowing where to search is just as important as knowing how to search. The following video will help you to understand why and when to use different search tools.

Video length: 2 min 14 sec

Key points from the video:

  • Knowing where to search is just as important as knowing how to.
  • Not all search tools will give you access to the same information.
  • Understanding why and when to use different search tools will save you time.
  • The Library Collection is a good place to search for scholarly material. It provides free access to a variety of resources types across a range of subject areas.
  • Databases help focus your search and have more advanced searching options.
  • Google Scholar provides access to a wide range of resources, but not all of it is scholarly. Use the Google Scholar link from the Library website for best access to full-text references.
  • Some types of specific information are best found using a search engine or specific website.
  • All resources need to be evaluated before using them.

The Library Collection

The Library Collection is a good place to start your search for scholarly content. You can use it to find eBooks, journal articles, reports, videos and more.

Using the "Refine my results" menu, you can refine your search to find exactly what you need.

How to start your search (opens in a new tab)

Advanced search

Use the advanced search function to split your concepts on to different rows.

For example: "machine learning" OR automation OR "artificial intelligence" OR AI

AND

architecture OR "building design"

Screenshot of advanced search in Library Collection.

Use Refine my results on the right hand side to narrow your results. The following are useful refinements to try.

  • Show only - Peer-reviewed journals
  • Resource type - Book chapters
  • Publication date - Limit to the last 10 years

 

Want to know more?

  • Watch this short video (1 min 48 sec) about searching the Collection
  • Test your knowledge with the following interactive tutorial:

How to search the Library Collection

Key databases

Databases are online collections of resources including articles, papers, book chapters and reports. Databases have advanced search options, helping to focus your search and find more relevant, scholarly references quickly.

You can try a database when you are not finding relevant results in the Library Collection, or if you want to restrict your results to a specific discipline, topic area, or material type.

Architecture databases

For a complete list of architecture databases that the Library subscribes to, click on the databases tab located under the 'Search the Library Collection' box on the Library homepage. Then select the category: Natural and Built Environment > Architecture.

For more info:

Advanced search example

Below is an example within ProQuest Central. ProQuest Central is a multidisciplinary database covering 160 subject areas including architecture, interior architecture, communication design, contemporary art, industrial design, and urban and regional planning. Ensure you only use references from this database that are from the relevant subject areas, as you may find a reference from an unrelated subject area that seems relevant but might not be appropriate to include in your literature review.

For example: "machine learning" OR automation OR "artificial intelligence" OR AI

AND

architecture AND "building design"

Screenshot of advanced search in ProQuest Central database.

  • Put a different concept on each line.
  • Use OR to connect any similar terms (synonyms).
  • Tip: Use the Find it button to locate full text articles.

Searching Google Scholar

Google Scholar heading

Google Scholar searches academic and scholarly websites.

Searching Google Scholar via the Library website activates a "Full-text at UniSA" link - this gives you direct access to Library-subscribed content.

Screenshot of Library website, highlighting the Google Scholar tab above the search bar.

Want to know more?

Test your knowledge with the following interactive tutorial:

Google Scholar search tutorial

Advanced search example

The Advanced search option gives more flexibility when you search. To access it, select the hamburger menu (three lines) in the top left corner of Google Scholar. This menu will appear once you do an initial search in Google Scholar.

Here is an example:

Add the phrase 'machine learning' to the 'with the exact phrase' field and add the term 'architecture' to the 'with at least one of the words' field.

Screenshot of Advanced search in Google Scholar.

 

For advanced Google Scholar tips visit the Web searching page in the Library's Grey Literature and Other Sources guide.

Related subject guides

You may also find the following guides useful:

Check out our full range of subject guides here.

Key journals

BrowZine allows you to easily access and browse journals available online via UniSA. Access via Library homepage > Journals.

Use the left-hand menu to filter down to your subject discipline.

Find more information

Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) eBook collection

 The RIBA eBook collection covers subjects such as architectural practice, architects and their work, architectural theory, building regulations, design and interiors, conservation and legal issues.

Many works focus on the UK environment, e.g., UK regulations, legislation, and projects.

Gavin Walkley architectural collection

The Gavin Walkley Collection includes old and rare books on architecture, town planning, and landscape design. These books are kept on Level 2 of the Jeffrey Smart Building.

Items can be found in the Library Collection and identified by the prefix GW as part of the call number.

 Screenshot of a Library item record, highlighting the location of the item (City West Gavin Walkley Collection) and the prefix GW in the call number.

UniSA staff and students can access the Collection by contacting Ask the Library to arrange an appointment.

Some of the material is very fragile, and access is then at the discretion of the Special Collections Coordinator or Manager, Library Services.

Other archival collections

You may wish to use archives in the course of your studies or research. Our Archival Research Guide showcases key Australian archives and can help you develop basic archival research skills.

Conference papers and proceedings

Conference papers can be a great way to find up to date information, research trends and innovations on a specific topic. Researchers often present their research findings first at conferences.

There is no single search tool that comprehensively lists conference papers and proceedings. However, you may discover references, or the full text, via:

Web search engines, e.g., Google

Papers may be available on websites for free or at a cost. 

Library Collection 
or Trove

Proceedings may be available online or in print via the Library Collection.

Institutional repositories

Conference papers by academics may be available online from their university repository (e.g., UniSA Research Outputs Repository, UQ eSpace).

Subscribed
databases

Conference proceedings may be indexed by some databases and journals. For example:

Finding conference papers and proceedings

Use the terms conference or proceedings in your search, combined with keywords such as an organisation name or other words from the conference title, e.g.:

Theses

By reading other theses you can:

  • Ensure that your topic has not been, or is not being, investigated by another researcher
  • Gain knowledge of other related research in your area of study
  • Discover the research that has preceded your topic
  • Explore methodologies and layouts used by other researchers in your field

Have a look at our online guide to Theses. The guide will help you to search databases to find theses, find exemplars, and share your thesis through the Research Outputs Repository.